Gavin James in Bern

I didn’t stand at my spot for 10 minutes when the light went out, a gentleman came up to the microphone all alone and began to sing acappella. “Fields Of Dreams” was the name of this first beautiful song and captivated the audience who listened attentively. The singer was Declan Greene – with “e” at the end, because he was no color – an Irish musician from Dublin. He was the surprise support.

The surprise support

“Thank you all for coming early to hear me. Even though most of you didn’t know I was playing,” Declan grinned broadly and immediately had the audience on his side. So Gavin James had brought two support acts with him.

In his relaxed, funny and very charming way Declan Greene presented not only his own songs like “Falling Lights”, “River” and “Stay”. His version of Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper’s “Shallow” was also well received. So the audience didn’t let themselves be asked to sing along twice at the end of the way too short set. And for all those who didn’t have enough, he offered CDs and free hugs after the show. You just had to like him right away!

Perfect harmonies by Saarloos

The pop/rock trio Saarloos, consisting of Brian McGovern, Craig Gallagher and Andy Kavanagh, continued the evening. Even before Saarloos, Brian and Craig had made a name for themselves as solo singer/songwriters, supporting stars like Bon Jovi, Daniel Bedingfield and Picture This.

Besides the rousing current single “Fire is love” they captivated the audience with their two-voiced singing and wonderful, harmonic melodies as in “Memphis” or “Changes”. “Don’t loose faith” they played only in twos, without Andy on bass. In the meantime, he let the outside world take part in the gig through a live stream. Suddenly Gavin James stood between the two and sang a few bars with them. And as fast as he showed up, he disappeared again.

Saarloos also didn’t miss the opportunity to involve the audience and especially to let them sing along to the last song “Girl From New York”.

Gavin James brought along a band

Gavin James stepped into the spotlight all alone with his guitar and captivated the sold out Bierhübeli with “Til the sun comes up” from the first note on. Everyone hung on his lips and listened carefully as he devotedly plucked the strings, performing his songs to his best soulfully with his fascinating voice. So far he has always been known this way. But unlike expected, he now tours with a full band.

Gavin James is no stranger back home. Growing up in a musical family – his great-grandparents were famous Irish opera singers and his sister sings in the Dublin Gospel Choir – his first single “Say Hello” was directly voted “Irish Song Of The Year”. With his first live album as well as his debut album “Bitter Pill” Gavin soon also celebrated success abroad and was support of Ed Sheeran as well as Sam Smith.

First headline show in Bern

Did Gavin James still play at the small Amboss Rampe in Zurich last summer, his follow-up album “Only Ticket Home” brought him a boost with hits like “Always” and “Glow”. And after a performance at “Energy Air” at the Stade de Suisse in Bern (one or the other stadium anthem is definitely there) it’s not so surprising that he played at his three concert tour through Switzerland, including his first headliner show in Bern, now at Bierhübeli in front of a full house.

It was usually as quiet as a church mouse when Gavin and his band played the silent sounds and created a series of goose bumps. Sometimes they played together “The Middle” acoustically, then Gavin stood on stage for “22” only in company of the pianist oonly and with “Nervous” again completely alone in singer/songwriter style. He wasn’t quite as talkative as I had expected, but Gavin and his band were able to enchant the audience in every way.

Whilst the first album mainly featured ballads and folkier pop/rock, “Only Ticket Home” features faster, more synthies and more ‘modern’ songs. So there was not only the quiet, but also the wilder, catchy side of Gavin to hear and see. Gavin and his fellow musicians were groovin’ to “Faces”, that includes some  R’n’B tunes, turned up with rousing pop songs like “Glow” and started off even more with “Start again”. Gavin also liked to joke with the audience between the varied set.

Towards the end Gavin’s “Hearts On Fire” was a must. The song again animated everyone to dance, hop and sing along. He also let the audience play the game with the kneeling down and jumping up again.

The Irish didn’t disappoint

For the encore Gavin returned again all alone with his guitar. With “The Book of Love” it became quieter again, but not for long. Reunited with the band he paid the audience a short visit for the final during the album title song “Only Ticket Home” with his guitar. In the confetti rain everybody was yelling “Hey lala lalala” and turned the Bierhübeli into an Irish Pub at 4 o’clock in the morning.

Finally it had worked out for me to see Gavin James live. I had already read and heard a lot of good things about him. And with all my expectations I was not disappointed. The likeable red head has, as it seems to be common with the Irish, the music definitely in his blood and sings great ballads and pop songs with his beautiful voice. So also did the previous support acts Declan Greene and Saarloos.

The evening had been a lot of fun and didn’t end after that: Declan Greene and the trio of Saarloos continued the entertainment a bit. They grabbed a guitar behind the merch stand and played another song for those who didn’t have enough yet.

There you hope for a soon return.

 

Infos about the bands can be found here:

Declan Greene
Saarloos
Gavin James

 

GALLERY

Declan Greene

Saarloos

Gavin James

Please follow and like us:
error

Gavin James in Bern

Ich stand wohl keine 10 Minuten an meinen Platz, als das Licht ausging, ein Herr ganz allein ans Mikro trat und acappella begann zu singen. „Fields Of Dreams“ hiess dieser erste wunderschöne Song und fesselte das Publikum, das aufmerksam zuhörte. Der Sänger war Declan Greene – mit „e“ am Ende, denn er sei ja keine Farbe – ein irischer Sänger aus Dublin. Er war der Überraschungssupport.

Der Überraschungssupport

„Danke, dass ihr alle früher gekommen seid, um mich zu hören. Auch wenn die meisten nicht wussten, dass ich spiele!“, grinste Declan breit und hatte das Publikum sofort auf seiner Seite. Gavin James hatte also gleich zwei Support Acts mitgebracht.

Mit seiner lockeren, witzigen und sehr charmanten Art präsentierte Declan Greene nicht nur eigene Songs wie „Falling Lights“, „River“ und „Stay“. Seine Version von Lady Gaga und Bradley Cooper’s „Shallow“ kam ebenfalls super an. Das Publikum liess sich da am Ende des viel zu kurzen Sets nicht zweimal bitten mitzusingen. Und allen, die noch nicht genug hatten, bot er für nach der Show CDs und Gratis-Umarmungen an. Man musste ihn einfach sofort mögen!

Perfekte Harmonie von Saarloos

Das Pop/Rock-Trio Saarloos, bestehend aus Brian McGovern, Craig Gallagher and Andy Kavanagh, fuhr den Abend fort. Schon vor Saarloos hatten sich Brian und Craig solo einen Namen als Singer/Songwriter gemacht und hatten so Grössen wie Bon Jovi, Daniel Bedingfield und Picture This supported.

Neben der mitreissenden aktuellen Single „Fire is love“, bestachen sie etwa in „Memphis“ oder „Changes“ durch ihren zweistimmigen Gesang und wunderbaren, harmonischen Melodien. Während „Don’t loose faith“ gabs auch mal ein Duett, ohne Andy am Bass. Der liess die Aussenwelt in der Zwischenzeit durch einen Live-Stream am Auftritt teilhaben. Da stand dafür plötzlich Gavin James zwischen den beiden und sang ein paar Takte mit ihnen mit. So schnell wie er allerdings aufgetaucht war, so schnell war er wieder verschwunden.

Saarloos liessen es sich ebenfalls nicht nehmen das Publikum mit einzubinden. Vor allem zum letzten Song „Girl From New York“ liessen sie nochmals alle mitsingen.

Gavin James bringt Band mit

Gavin James trat ganz allein nur mit seiner Gitarre ins Rampenlicht und zog das ausverkaufte Bierhübeli mit „Til the sun comes up“ vom ersten Ton an in seinen Bann. Alle hingen sie ihm an seinen Lippen und hörten genau zu, wenn er hingebungsvoll an den Saiten zupfte, mit seiner faszinierenden Stimme und so viel Gefühl seine Songs zum Besten gab. So kannte man ihn bisher immer. Aber anders als erwartet, tourt er nun mit kompletter Band.

In seiner Heimat ist Gavin James längst kein Unbekannter mehr. In einer musikalischen Familie aufgewachsen – seine Urgrosseltern waren bekannte irische Opernsänger und seine Schwester singt im Dubliner Gospelchor – wurde seine erste Single „Say Hello“ damals direkt zum „Irish Song Of The Year“ gekürt. Mit seinem ersten Live-Album sowie dem Debutalbum „Bitter Pill“ feierte Gavin bald ebenfalls Erfolge im Ausland und war bei Ed Sheeran als auch Sam Smith als Support dabei.

Erste Headline-Show in Bern

Spielte Gavin James letzten Sommer noch in der kleinen Amboss Rampe in Zürich, brachte ihm sein Nachfolgealbum „Only Ticket Home“ mit Hits wie „Always“ und „Glow“ einen Boost. Und nach einem Auftritt am Energy Air im Berner Stade de Suisse (die eine oder andere Stadionhymne ist auf jeden Fall dabei) ist es also gar nicht so überraschend, dass er bei seiner drei Konzerte-Tour durch die Schweiz, darunter seine 1. Headliner-Show in Bern, nun im Bierhübeli vor vollem Haus spielte.

Es war meist mucksmäuschenstill, wenn Gavin und seine Band die leisen Töne spielten und reihenweise Gänsehautmomente verursachten. Mal spielten sie zusammen „The Middle“ akustisch, dann stand Gavin für „22“ nur in Begleitung vom Pianisten auf der Bühne und bei „Nervous“ bereits wieder ganz allein im Singer/Songwriter Stil. Er war nicht ganz so gesprächig, wie ich das irgendwie erwartet hatte, aber Gavin und seine Band vermochten in jeglicher Weise das Publikum zu verzaubern.

Waren auf dem ersten Album vor allem Balladen und folkigeren Pop/Rock zu finden, gibt es auf „Only Ticket Home“ vermehrt schnellere, von Synthie geprägte, ‚modernere‘ Songs. Somit war da neben der ruhigen auch bald die wildere, aufgedrehtere Seite von Gavin zu hören und sehen. Gavin und seine Mitmusiker groovten etwa zum R’n’B gespickten „Faces“, drehten mit mitreissenden Popsongs wie „Glow“ richtig auf und starteten mit „Start again“ erst recht durch. Gavin erlaubte sich zwischen dem abwechslungsreichen Set auch gerne Mal ein Spässchen mit dem Publikum.

Gegen Ende durfte natürlich Gavins‘ „Hearts On Fire“ auf keinen Fall fehlen. Der Song animierte nochmals alle zum ausgelassenen Tanzen, Hüpfen und Mitsingen. Er liess ausserdem dabei das Publikum das Spielchen mit dem in die Knie gehen und wieder aufspringen mitmachen.

Die Iren enttäuschten nicht

Erneut kehrte Gavin allein mit der Gitarre für die Zugabe zurück. Es wurde mit „The Book of Love“ nochmals ruhiger, aber nicht für lange. Wiedervereint mit der Band stattete er dem Publikum während des Albumtitelsongs „Only Ticket Home“ samt Gitarre zum Abschluss einen kurzen Besuch ab. Im Konfettiregen gröhlten dabei alle lauthals „Hey lala lalala“ und verwandelten das Bierhübeli kurzerhand in einen Irish Pub um 4 Uhr morgens.

Endlich hatte es auch für mich geklappt Gavin James live zu sehen. Viel Gutes hatte ich über ihn schon gelesen und gehört und meine Erwartungen wurden damit nicht enttäuscht. Der sympathische Rotschopf hat, wie das bei den Iren so üblich zu sein scheint, die Musik definitiv im Blut und singt mit seiner wunderschönen Stimme tolle Balladen und Popsongs. So auch die vorangegangenen Support Acts Declan Greene und Saarloos.

Der Abend war ein riesen Spass gewesen und fand danach noch gar kein Ende: Declan Greene und das Trio von Saarloos setzten die Unterhaltung nämlich noch etwas fort. Sie schnappten sich hinterm Merchstand eine Gitarre und brachten für alle, die noch nicht genug hatten, nochmals ein Ständchen.

Da hofft man definitiv auf eine baldige Rückkehr.

 

Infos zu den Bands findet ihr hier:

Declan Greene
Saarloos
Gavin James

 

GALLERY

Declan Greene

Saarloos

Gavin James

Please follow and like us: