Indielab Festival in Lyss

Tonight, the Kufa Lyss held the Indielab music festival again. I was happy to see well-known bands and musicians Tobias Carshey, Baba Shrimps, We Invented Paris and Polar Circles, and I was especially curious about the electro pop foursome Klain Karoo. Admittedly, in addition to a few surprises, there were also a few small disappointments that evening. But just in turn.

Better late than not at all

In a cozy, familial atmosphere also in the latest edition of Indielab at Kufa Lyss a great, varied music program was offered. 9 different bands and musicians played on three stages in the yard, club and in the big hall.

But yes, planning public transport is not always easy. So the bus was of course too late and the train drove off right under my nose. The ride in the car, which was offered to me for half the distance, so I missed. Uff. So I was off to Lyss a bit late, as usually by train. Well, better late than not arriving at all 😉

While the grill was already on, the first concertgoers were getting drinks and Caroline Alves was playing the last song of her opening set outside in the yard, I arrived too. However, Caroline Alves was going to play a second set later and that’s how I started at Kufa Club with Honey Mono.

Hats and electro bees

What does Honey Mono actually mean …?  Umm, something with honey … yeah, what it is with the name, is definitely still to find out. 😉 The indie electro pop duo Honey Mono are Adrian Aeby and Cedric Gadient from Seeland. Adrian plays a kind of electro drums and synths, Cedric guitar. Singing, they both do.

Sweating, they realized that the hats had not been such a good idea. While they were talking about their civilian service the next day, I still wondered about the bee that was standing in the middle of the stage. As it turned out, this could be lit up indeed and belonged according to them to their light show.

However, they knew how to thrill their audiences with their cool, danceable sound and the various songs that can partly be found on their “Bee-P” EP.

SETLIST:

1 Blinding Lights
2 Seek and Hide
3 Read My Letter
4 1000
5 Cold To The Bone
6 All Eyes On You
7 Count The Days
8 She’s On A New Way
9 Come Alone
10 Malovelent Indifference
11 Pretty Heart

Without rules

“The Floor is lava” some concert visitors kept joking and referred to last year’s Internet trend game (no, you do not have to understand 😉 ). The whole audience was standing around the small outdoor stage, as if one had to avoid the ground in front of it. But they did not dare to go closer to the stage either. As far as I’m concerned, Tobias Carshey does not bite. He may just make faces, if you dare to get closer after all 😉

Last seen with a full band at Mokka Thun (read the report HERE), Tobias Carshey was solo on this Saturday night with his current album “Semicolon” – only with guitar and harmonica. A little quieter, but no less passionate and expressive. He had prepared a list of songs he wanted to play, but he did not like keeping to rules. That’s why he just played as it came.

I was startled when Tobias suddenly asked the engineer after a few songs if he had time for another song. What, that’s it? Well, you really had to use every second for the music. Fortunately, he also played a second set later.

And so a few concerts later was the motto “Let’s kill the DJ”. But then it was not clear to anyone whether there would be a DJ on the evening at all? (Note: There was an after-show party later). Lucky for the DJ? It was just the song then 😉

By the end of the second set, the thunderstorm preceded by the weather frogs came up and suddenly the concert visitors were almost a little too close to him. In order to catch the last songs of Tobias Carshey, some of the audience fled to him directly into the meager dry under the tight stage roof. All around he was celebrated properly.

[There are more photos of Tobias Carshey HERE]

A high five for Tobias Carshey, his good humor and the two wonderful sets.

Klain Karoo inspired

Klain Karoo, an indie electro pop band from around Zurich had set up in the club. I already knew that frontwoman Carla Fellinger is a great singer. Not seen her live though.

Klain Karoo’s debut EP “Lights Down Low” last year and the song “Do not Talk” also brought my attention to the band for the first time. But then I was not so sure if I would really like them. I do not necessarily consider electronic music to be a favorite. Little things can make it matter if I like the songs or if I totally mind the synths.

But hey! 2-3 songs and I just thought “shit are they cool!” I can not express it in a better way 😉 This voice killing. The energy is electrifying. And the different musical elements go together so well. Electro-pop, even mixed with some hip-hop. Obviously just in the way the band likes it. And I totally loved their show. That surprised – for reasons mentioned – even myself.

Then there was a short guest appearance by Lorenz Häberli, better known as ½ of the current chart-topper Lo & Leduc, who in the end was somehow almost a minor matter 😉 I was really inspired by the Klain Karoo concert. The bands front woman is truly one of the best singers in the country. And with “Fight” there was even a premiere in the end. They played it live for the first time.

[more photos of Klain Karoo’s HERE]

SETLIST:
1 Intro
2 Cut The Rope
3 Stay
4 Don’t Lose
5 B & W
6 Runaway Kid
7 In The Wild
8 Lights Down Low
9 Don’t Talk
10 Hold On
11 Fight

Mile after Mile towards Rome

It was the first time this evening in the big hall. Baba Shrimps have made several thousand miles since my last concert in January, when they made a stop on their “Road To Rome” at Mokka Thun. In the meantime, they are at 21,810 miles (see yourself on their website). This means that almost 13,000 miles (around 21,000 km) have been added since Thun. How is that possible?

The trio made a short trip to South Korea to the Olympic Games in February. With “Hurry Hurry” they have contributed the official Swiss Olympic song and cheered the teams with it. But also the Indielab audience, with whom they made a few sporty stretching exercises in advance of the song. But before that, they reflected with “Superdome” and keyboarder Luca’s rap parts all easy the past week.

[All Baba Shrimp photos can be found HERE]

Their current, second album is more electronic and not quite as folky as its forerunner. About the sound change, I was not very excited. Certain songs will never be my favorites, but I had nothing to complain about this evening 😉 .

It was a really great concert: sound was right. Lights matched. The vibes were nice. The birthday girl, who has been dedicated a song, will surely have been very happy. My only small point of criticism: The concert was too short 😉 But there were even more bands waiting for their performances ….

Setlist:
1 Wish You Luck
2 Oracle
3 Back To Where The Light Is
4 Superdome
5 Hurry Hurry
6 Grizzly Heart
7 Road To Rome
8 Hide

With new band on festival tour

Left by his former bandmates late last year, We Invented Paris frontman Flavian has spent the last few months in various constellations on his “Catastrophe” tour.

Sometimes on his own, he enchanted only with a guitar or on the piano with soft, reduced sounds. Then, supported by his keytar, everyone danced to the 80s sound of the catastrophe disco bar box. In addition, Flavian was supported at various concerts by guest musicians: For example by The Souls in Buchs (read HERE).

That was anything but a disaster ♥ But I was pleased to see and hear that he is traveling with a new band this coming summer. Favorites such as “Dance On Water”, “A view that almost kills”, but also the new “Spiderman” sounded complete and wonderfully harmonious with the band.

Setlist:
1 Looking Back
2 Fuss
3 Auguste Piccard
4 Kaleidoscope
5 Dance On Water
6 A View That Almost Kills
7 Iceberg Indietronic
8 Air Raid Shelter
9 Storm
10 Spiderman

Long live the 80’s

But it really did not turn properly into the 80s until the following concert. When Alexander Frei aka Crimer enters the stage, you really feel like you’re back in time for a few years. The clothes, the haircut, the voice, the sound and the wild dance moves: Crimer’s totally living this 80’s sound – wavepop with a modern twist, as he calls it. Somehow cool and totally fascinating. How does he do that with his voice …?


Just back from a short support tour with Nena, Crimer released his debut album “Leave Me Baby” already at the beginning of the year. You’ve probably heard the song “Brotherlove” before. That was played up and down in the radios last year pretty much hyped by the media.

I saw Crimer solo for 2-3 songs on “Moon & Stars” last summer. There he was recognized from afar by his Backstreet Boys hairstyle. It has changed a bit. In Locarno I missed a complete band. Although today he was not alone on stage, but only three of them, I was still missing something. After a few songs, it was not really mine.

Indie-Rock from the other side of the “Röstigraben”

Last November, Polar Circles released their debut album “All In The Golden Afternoon”. I heard them live for the first time last October at the Zurich concert of the Irish band The Coronas (read HERE). I would have liked to see more of Polar Circles, but the band was late with their setup and soundcheck.

I had to catch my train and as hard as it was – the first few songs of the Lausanne indie rock band sounded really good again – after 2-3 songs it was already over for me.

As far as the band is concerned, the Röstigraben definitely exist. Slowly but surely, the Lausanne guys are also getting a foothold  here in the German-speaking part of Switzerland. So be sure to visit them when they perform in Lenk at the Mittsommer Festival or at the Summerstage Basel this summer.

 

Festivalsaison has begun

I did not really hear Caroline Alves anymore. I was too flashed by Klain Karoo 😉 Her soulful folk songs seemed rather quiet though. I also missed Brett. Maybe that will eventually happen.

What else can I say? It was a really great evening. Discovery of the evening and somehow the highlight was Klein Karoo. Not quite mine, however, was Crimer. But all in all it was a really great program and a nice festival day.

 

 

You are looking for more information about the bands and musicians? Just visit their official websites or browse PlanetSarah.ch.

Caroline Alves auf Facebook
www.honeymono.ch
www.tobiascarshey.com
www.klainkaroo.com
www.babashrimps.ch
weinventedparis.com
www.crimer.ch
www.polarcircles.ch

www.kufa.ch

Please follow and like us:

Indielab Festival in Lyss

Heute fand in der Kufa Lyss erneut das Indielab Musikfestival statt. Freute ich mich, die mir bekannten Bands und Musiker Tobias Carshey, Baba Shrimps, We Invented Paris sowie Polar Circles wieder zu sehen, war ich vor allem auch auf das Electro Pop-Quartett Klain Karoo gespannt. Zugegeben, neben einigen Überraschungen, gab es an diesem Abend auch die eine oder andere kleine Enttäuschung. Aber einfach mal der Reihe nach.

Besser spät als gar nicht

Bei gemütlicher, familiärer Stimmung wurde auch an der neusten Ausgabe des Indielab in der Kufa Lyss ein tolles, abwechslungsreiches Musikprogramm geboten. Es spielten 9 verschiedene Bands und Musiker verteilt auf drei Bühnen im Hof, Club und in der grossen Halle.

Aber ja, ÖV planen ist nicht immer ganz einfach. So war der Bus natürlich zu spät und der Zug fuhr mir direkt vor der Nase weg. Die Mitfahrt im Auto, die mir für die halbe Strecke angeboten wurde, somit vertan. Uff. Also ging es mit etwas Verspätung wie immer im Zug nach Lyss. Naja, besser spät als gar nicht ankommen 😉

Während der Grill bereits lief, die ersten Konzertbesucher sich mit Getränken eingedeckt hatten und Caroline Alves draussen im Hof  den letzten Song ihres Eröffnungssets spielte, kam dann auch ich mal an. Caroline Alves werde aber später ein zweites Set spielen und so ging es erstmal im Kufa Club mit Honey Mono los.

Mützen und Elektrobienen

Was bedeutet Honey Mono eigentlich…? Hmm, irgendwas mit Honig… ja, was es mit dem Namen auf sich hat, gilt definitiv noch raus zu finden. 😉 Das Indie-Elektro Pop-Duo Honey Mono sind Adrian Aeby und Cedric Gadient aus dem Seeland. Adrian spielt eine Art Elektrodrums und Synthies, Cedric Gitarre. Singen tun sie beide.

Schwitzend stellten sie fest, dass die Mützen doch keine so gute Idee gewesen war. Während sie dadurch von ihrem Zivi-Einsatz am nächsten Tag erzählten, wunderte ich mich noch über die Biene, die mitten auf der Bühne stand. Wie sich zeigte, liess sich diese tatsächlich erleuchten und gehörte gemäss ihren Aussagen zur Lichtshow.

Auf jeden Fall wussten sie mit coolem, tanzbaren Sound und den diversen Songs, die teils auf ihrer “Bee-P” EP zu finden sind, ihr Publikum zu begeistern.

SETLIST:

1 Blinding Lights
2 Seek and Hide
3 Read My Letter
4 1000
5 Cold To The Bone
6 All Eyes On You
7 Count The Days
8 She’s On A New Way
9 Come Alone
10 Malovelent Indifference
11 Pretty Heart

Ganz ohne Regeln

„The Floor is lava“ witzelten einige Konzertbesucher und bezogen sich auf das letztjährige Internet-Trendspiel (nein, muss man nicht verstehen 😉 ). Die ganzen Zuhörer standen nämlich mit grossem Abstand um die kleine Outdoor-Bühne rum, als ob man den Boden davor meiden musste. Selber an die Bühne getrauten sie sich dann aber auch nicht. Soviel mir ist, beisst Tobias Carshey nicht. Er macht höchstens Faxen, wenn du dich dann doch näher ran traust 😉

Zuletzt mit kompletter Band im Mokka Thun gesehen (lest den Bericht dazu HIER), war Tobias Carshey an diesem Samstagabend mit seinem aktuellen Album „Semicolon“ solo vor Ort – nur mit Gitarre und Mundharmonika. Ein Bisschen ruhiger also, aber nicht weniger leidenschaftlich und ausdrucksstark. Er habe eine Liste mit Songs vorbereitet, die er spielen wolle, aber er möge es nicht so sehr, sich an Regeln zu halten. Deshalb spiele er einfach, wie es komme.

Ich erschrak etwas, als Tobias bereits nach wenigen Songs den Tontechniker plötzlich fragte, ob er überhaupt noch Zeit für ein weiteres Lied habe. Wie, das war‘s schon? Na, da musste man wirklich jede Sekunde für die Musik nutzen. Glücklicherweise spielte auch er später ein zweites Set.

Und so lautete ein paar Konzerte später die Devise so “Let’s Kill The DJ“. Es war dann aber keinem so klar, ob denn überhaupt an dem Abend noch ein DJ auflegen würde? (Anmerkung: Es gab zumindest später noch eine Aftershow Party). Glück für den DJ? Es blieb beim Song. 😉

Das von den Wetterfröschen vorangekündigte Gewitter folgte am Ende des zweiten Sets und plötzlich standen ihm die Konzertbesucher doch fast etwas zu dicht dran. Um die letzten Songs von Tobias Carshey noch mitzukriegen, flüchten einige der Zuhörer zu ihm direkt ins spärliche Trockene unter dem knappen Bühnendach. Rings rum wurde er richtig gefeiert.

[mehr Fotos von Tobias Carshey gibt’s HIER]

Ein High Five für Tobias Carshey, seinen guten Humor und die zwei wunderbaren Sets.

Klain Karoo beflügelten

Klain Karoo, eine Indie Electropop Band aus dem Grossraum Zürich hatten sich im Club eingerichtet. Dass Frontfrau Carla Fellinger eine grossartige Sängerin ist, hatte ich bereits zuvor mitbekommen. Nicht aber live.

Durch Klain Karoo’s im letzten Jahr veröffentlichte Debut-EP “Lights Down Low“ und dem Song “Don’t Talk” wurde auch ich erstmals aufmerksam auf die Band. Ich war mir dann aber nicht so sicher, ob sie mir wirklich gefallen würden. Elektromusik sehe ich nicht unbedingt als Favorit. Kleinigkeiten können es ausmachen, ob ich die Songs mag oder ich mich an den Synthies total störe.

Aber hey! 2-3 Songs und ich dachte mir nur “Scheisse sind die geil!” Anders kann ich es grad gar nicht besser ausdrücken 😉 Diese Stimme haut einen um. Die Energie reisst mit. Und die verschiedenen musikalischen Elemente passen so gut zusammen. Elektro-Pop, sogar gemischt mit etwas Hip Hop. Offensichtlich so, wie’s der Band gerade gefällt. Und ich liebte ihre Show total. Das überraschte – aus genannten Gründen – sogar mich selbst.

Dazu kam dann noch ein kurzer Gastauftritt von Lorenz Häberli, besser bekannt als ½ der aktuellen Chartstürmer Lo & Leduc, der am Ende aber irgendwie fast etwas Nebensache war 😉 Ich war richtig beflügelt vom Klain Karoo Konzert. Die Bandfront-Fau ist wahrlich eine der besten Sängerinnen im Land.  Und mit „Fight“ gab es am Ende sogar noch eine Premiere. Den spielten sie zum 1. Mal live.

[mehr Fotos von Klain Karoo gibt’s HIER]

SETLIST:
1 Intro
2 Cut The Rope
3 Stay
4 Don’t Lose
5 B & W
6 Runaway Kid
7 In The Wild
8 Lights Down Low
9 Don’t Talk
10 Hold On
11 Fight

Meile um Meile Richtung Rom

Es ging zum 1. Mal an diesem Abend in die grosse Halle. Baba Shrimps sind seit meinem letzten Konzertbesuch im Januar, als sie auf ihrer “Road To Rome” im Mokka Thun Zwischenhalt machten, schon wieder einige tausend Meilen vorangekommen. Mittlerweilen sind sie bei 21’810 Meilen (seht selbst auf ihrer Webseite).  Das heisst, es sind fast 13’000 Meilen (rund 21’000 km) seit Thun dazugekommen. Wie ist das möglich?

Das Trio machte im Februar kurz einen Abstecher nach Südkorea an die Olympischen Spiele. Mit “Hurry Hurry” haben sie den offiziellen Schweizer Olympia-Song beigesteuert und die Teams damit angefeuert. Aber auch das Indielab-Publikum, mit dem sie vorab zum Song gleich noch ein paar sportliche Dehnübungen machten. Davor reflektierten sie mit „Superdome“ und Keyboarder Luca’s Sprechparts aber erst noch ganz easy die vergangene Woche.

[Alle Baba Shrimps Fotos findet ihr HIER]

Ihr aktuelles, zweites Album ist elektronischer und nicht mehr ganz so folkig wie ihr Vorgänger. Von der Soundveränderung war ich erst nicht sehr begeistert. Gewisse Songs werden sicher auch nie meine Favoriten, aber ich hatte an diesem Abend nichts zu bemängeln 😉 .

Es war ein richtig tolles Konzert: Sound stimmte. Licht passte. Die Stimmung war schön. Das Geburtstagskind, das ein Lied gewidmet bekommen hat, wird sicher besonders glücklich gewesen sein. Mein einziger kleiner Kritikpunkt: Das Konzert war zu kurz 😉 Aber es warteten halt noch mehr Bands auf ihren Auftritt…

Setlist:
1 Wish You Luck
2 Oracle
3 Back To Where The Light Is
4 Superdome
5 Hurry Hurry
6 Grizzly Heart
7 Road To Rome
8 Hide

Mit neuer Band auf Festival-Tour

Ende letztes Jahr von seinen bisherigen Bandkollegen verlassen, war We Invented Paris Frontmann Flavian die letzten Monate in diversen Konstellationen auf seiner “Catastrophe”-Tour unterwegs. .

Manchmal verzauberte er ganz allein nur mit Gitarre oder am Piano mit sanften, reduzierten Klängen. Dann wurde, unterstützt durch seine Keytar, zum 80s Sound der Catastrophe-Disco-Bar-Box getanzt. Ausserdem wurde Flavian an diversen Konzerten von Gastmusikern unterstützt: Etwa in Buchs von The Souls (lest HIER).

Das war alles andere als eine Katastrophe gewesen ♥  Es freute mich aber zu sehen und zu hören, dass er im kommenden Sommer mit neuer Band unterwegs ist. Favoriten wie “Dance On Water”, “A view that almost kills”, aber auch das neue “Spiderman” klangen mit der Band voller und so wunderbar harmonisch.

Setlist:
1 Looking Back
2 Fuss
3 Auguste Piccard
4 Kaleidoscope
5 Dance On Water
6 A View That Almost Kills
7 Iceberg Indietronic
8 Air Raid Shelter
9 Storm
10 Spiderman

Es leben die 80er

So richtig 80er wurde es aber erst beim darauffolgenden Konzert. Betritt Alexander Frei aka Crimer die Bühne, fühlt man sich echt einige Jahre in die Zeit versetzt. Die Klamotten, der Haarschnitt, die Stimme, der Sound und die wilden Tanzeinlagen: Crimer lebt diesen 80er Sound – Wavepop mit modernem Twist, wie er est nennt – total. Irgendwie cool und total faszinierend. Wie macht er das mit der Stimme…?


Gerade von einer kurzen Support Tour mit Nena zurück, hatte Crimer bereits Anfang Jahr sein Debütalbum “Leave Me Baby” veröffentlicht. Den Song “Brotherlove” habt ihr sicher schon mal gehört. Der lief letztes Jahr von den Medien ziemlich gehyped in den Radios auf und ab.

Ich hab Crimer letzten Sommer solo für 2-3 Songs am “Moon & Stars” gesehen. Dort erkannte man ihn schon von weitem an seiner Backstreet Boys-Frisur. Die hat sich etwas geändert. In Locarno fehlte mir eine komplette Band. Heute stand er zwar nicht allein auf der Bühne, aber nur so zu dritt fehlte mir trotzdem noch was. Nach ein paar Songs wars dann doch nicht so wirklich meins.

Indie-Rock von “änetem Röstigraben”

Letzten November haben Polar Circles ihr Debutalbum “All In The Golden Afternoon” veröffentlicht. Zum ersten Mal live gehört hab ich sie letzten Oktober am Zürcher Konzert der Irischen Band The Coronas (lest darüber HIER). Gerne hätte ich noch etwas mehr von Polar Circles gesehen, aber die Band war in Verzug mit ihrem Aufbau und Soundcheck.

Ich musste meinen Zug erwischen und so schwer es mir fiel – die ersten paar Songs der Lausanner Indie-Rockband klangen wieder echt gut – war dann nach 2-3 Songs bereits Schluss für mich.

Was die Band betreffe, existiere der Röstigraben definitiv. Langsam aber sicher fassen die Lausanner jedoch auch bei uns in der Deutschschweiz Fuss. Also unbedingt bei ihnen vorbei gehen, wenn sie diesen Sommer etwa in der Lenk am Mittsommer Festival oder auf der Summerstage Basel auftreten werden.

Festivalsaison hat begonnen

Caroline Alves hab ich dann doch nicht mehr so richtig mitgekriegt. ich war zu geflashed von Klain Karoo 😉 Ihre souligen Folk-Songs schienen aber eher ruhig.  Auch verpassen tat ich Brett. Vielleicht ergibt sich das irgendwann noch.

Was kann ich sonst sagen? Es war ein richtig toller Abend. Entdeckung des Abends und irgendwie doch auch das Highlight waren Klein Karoo. Nicht ganz so meins war hingegen Crimer. Aber alles in allem ein echt super Programm und schöner Festivaltag.

 

 

Ihr sucht noch mehr Infos zu den Bands und Musiker? Einfach auf ihren offiziellen Webseiten vorbei schauen oder PlanetSarah.ch durchstöbern.

Caroline Alves auf Facebook
www.honeymono.ch
www.tobiascarshey.com
www.klainkaroo.com
www.babashrimps.ch
weinventedparis.com
www.crimer.ch
www.polarcircles.ch

www.kufa.ch

Please follow and like us: