Jesters Quest & Sam Gruber in Bern

This evening I could go to Bern to see the concert of Jesters Quest and Sam Gruber at Ono. Both Valais bands were at this Point rather unknown to me, especially live. I knew the videos of Jesters Quest, but Sam Gruber I didn’t know at all. I prepared for a cosy evening at the small concert location in the middle of Bern’s old town. Because I was pretty tired that evening, something quite was welcome to me. Luckily the evening didn’t end as it started.

Bern at war?

That is to say, on the way to Ono I got into a police control. I had read something about before, but somehow I didn’t realize that it was going to be in this part of the city. I also still don’t know how I could get into this group, that was put against the wall and searched from head to toe. Do I look so dangerously? Quickly I remembered the news paper article about the unauthorized Antifa demo. We also got informed that it was forbidden in the whole city to gather in groups of more than 10 people.

Apart from wondering if they were even allowed to do all this and being a little annoyed, I especially was nervous when the policewoman started to unpack my pocket cam. Careful please! I really just wanted to go to this concert.

With so much heavily armed police that was between the main station and Zytglogge on this evening, you could have thought Bern was at war. Because they neither have found anything unusual in my bags nor with the ID control (who would have though… -.-), they let me go in time for the concert. In thoughts I immediately went through the old town to figure out another way to avoid Zytglogge afterwards to get to the train station. That was somehow difficult…

Luckily I didn’t notice anything else about afterwards. At Ono it was nice and cosy. Who wants to play a small, intimate concert, is just right there.

Jesters Quest

Jesters Quest played first an 1 hour concert. Jesters Quest is a project by Valais bass player Marco Mazotti, some of you probably have seen with Halunke before. Jesters Quest is a concept story in 12 chapters, that is told by video and music. Therefor in this evening Marco played the live show as “Jesters Acoustic Quest” with Madeleine Rascher and Petra Minnig on vocals as well as Michael Kuster on guitar.

In this evening the story was shortly before releasing the 5th chapter (release: 11.10.2017). Because their own repertoire wasn’t evening filling yet, they played some of their favourite cover songs in-between. Because they place acoustic, it of course was a quieter evening. The two singers do have incredible voices and I just loved sitting there and listening to them. Even two concert visitors next to us probably would have preferred some more action 😉 Usually the songs are more rock and heavy on electro guitars.

I could imagine, that Jesters Quest might be played out live visually; with video + live band. 😉 No clue, if that is a future plan, but that would be my concept 😉 But we will see. Every few weeks/month a new song, new part of the story, will be released until it’s complete. Here You can listen to chapter 4 live at Ono.

The songs and videos you can of course find on www.jesters-quest.com

A decade of songwriting

After a short break Sam Gruber played then in a trio with bass player Sam Truffer (yes, two Sams) as well as Ephraim Salzmann on drums and dulcimer. I had read ahead, that over 10 years ago front guy Sam Gruber used to be in a band called BigFish with Stefanie Heinzmann;  back then in Swiss dialect, well Valais dialect. But that Ephraim (Steffi’s cousin + Long-time member of the Fonky Fonks) as well as Marco Mazotti (Jesters Quest) were part of this band too, I found out only afterwards 😉

Sam Gruber is touring with his album “A Decade Full Of Songs”, what is including 10 years of songwriting. Thereby the set included next to others songs like “Cinnamon & Honey”, “The Earth Won’t Stop Spinning” as well as “Cherry Merry Joly Juicy”. His songs sound like pop/folk with some other genre influences. For “Since 1985” Ephraim sat down at the dulcimer [video here], Valais (!) dulcimer. Another song brought some reggae tunes with it. At the end Sam played for the encore the song “Lullaby”, he had written for his girlfriend, all by himself.

Luckily it went home mainly past the police. My concert companion was there by car and she gave me a lift to the train station then. Thanks again ♥ Well, it seems that police presence obviously was effective: Apparently there was mainly cyper war and in Bern’s streets it stayed mainly quiet.

Info about the location and the bands you can get here:

www.onobern.ch
www.jesters-quest.com
www.samgruber.ch

Please follow and like us:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

Jesters Quest & Sam Gruber in Bern

Ich durfte an diesem Abend nach Bern ins Ono zum Konzert von Jesters Quest und Sam Gruber. Beide Walliser Bands waren für mich zu dem Zeitpunkt eher noch unbekannt, vor allem live. Ich kannte die Videos von Jesters Quest, aber Sam Gruber kannte ich bis dahin gar nicht. Ich stellte mich aber auf einen gemütlichen Abend in dem kleinen Konzertlokal mitten in der Berner Altstadt ein. Da ich an diesem Abend eh ziemlich müde war, war mir was ruhiges auch total recht. Zum Glück endete der Abend nicht so, wie es begann.

Bern im Krieg?

Auf dem Weg ins Ono geriet ich nämlich in eine Polizeikontrolle. Ich hatte vorab zwar was gelesen gehabt, aber irgendwie nicht ganz realisiert, dass das Ganze in diesem Teil der Stadt stattfinden würde. Mir ist auch immer noch nicht ganz klar, wie ich in diese Gruppe geraten konnte, die da an die Wand gestellt und von oben bis unten kontrolliert wurde. Seh ich echt so gefährlich aus? Schnell erinnerte ich mich an den Zeitungsartikel über die unbewilligte Antifa-Demo. Darüber, dass es an diesem Abend in der ganzen Stadt verboten war sich in Gruppen mit mehr als 10 Leuten zu versammeln, wurde man auch aufgeklärt.

Abgesehen davon, dass ich mich fragte, ob die das einfach so dürfen und ich leicht genervt war, wurde ich vor allem nervös, als die Polizistin anfing meine Pocketcam auszupacken. Vorsichtig damit bitte! Ich wollte doch echt nur an dieses Konzert.

Bei so viel schwerbewaffneter Polizei, die an diesem Abend zwischen Bahnhof und Zytglogge anzutreffen war, hätte man meinen können, Bern sei im Krieg. Da sie weder in meinen Taschen noch nach meiner ID Kontrolle ungewöhnliches fanden (wer hätte das gedacht… -.-), liessen sie mich dann doch noch rechtzeitig fürs Konzert weiterziehen. In Gedanken ging ich natürlich sofort die Altstadt durch und wie ich danach den Zytglogge weiträumig umgehen konnte, um zum Bahnhof zu kommen? Irgendwie schwierig…

Zum Glück kriegte ich dann nicht mehr viel von mit. Im Ono war es schön und gemütlich. Wer ein kleines, persönliches Konzert abhalten möchte, der ist dort echt genau richtig.

Jesters Suche

Jesters Quest spielten als erstes ein rund 1-stündiges Konzert. Jesters Quest ist ein Projekt vom Walliser Bassisten Marco Mazotti, den bestimmt schon einige von euch bei den Halunke gesehen haben. Jesters Quest („Jesters Suche“) ist eine Konzeptgeschichte in 12 Kapiteln, die mit Video und Musik erzählt wird. Dabei spielte Marco an dem Abend mit Madeleine Rascher und Petra Minnig an Gesang sowie Michael Kuster an der Gitarre unter „Jesters Acoustic Quest“ die Liveshow.

An dem Abend war die Geschichte kurz vor Veröffentlichung des 5. Kapitels (VÖ: 11.10.2017). Da ihr eigenes Repertoire damit noch nicht abendfüllend ist, haben sie zwischen den fünf eigenen Songs auch Lieblingscoversongs gespielt. Da alles akustisch gespielt wurde, wurde es natürlich ein ruhigerer Abend. Die beiden Sängerinnen haben echt wahnsinnstolle Stimmen und ich fand es schön, einfach da zu sitzen und ihnen zuzuhören. Auch wenn sich zwei Konzertbesucher neben uns wohl ein wenig mehr Action gewünscht hätten 😉 Normalerweise sind die einzelnen Songs rockiger und Stromgitarrenlastiger.

Ich könnte mir aber auch vorstellen, dass Jesters Quest vielleicht irgendwann live visuell umgesetzt werden wird; also mit Videos + Liveband. 😉 Keine Ahnung, ob das ein zuküntiger Plan ist, wär jetzt so meine Idee. Aber das werden wir ja sehen. Alle paar Wochen/Monate kommt ein neuer Song, neuer Teil der Geschichte, dazu, bis sie dann komplett ist. Hier könnt ihr euch Kapital 4 live im Ono anhören.

Die Songs und Videos findet ihr natürlich auf www.jesters-quest.com

Eine Dekade Songwriting

Nach einer kurzen Pause spielte dann Sam Gruber im Trio mit Bassist Sam Truffer (ja, zwei Sams) sowie Ephraim Salzmann an Drums und Hackbrett. Im Vornherein hatte ich bereits gelesen, dass Frontmann Sam Gruber vor etwas mehr als 10 Jahren mal mit Stefanie Heinzmann in einer Band namens BigFish war; damals in Mundart, also Walliser Deutsch. Dass aber Ephraim (Seffis Cousin + lange auch Bandmitglieder der Fonky Fonks) sowie Marco Mazotti (Jesters Quest) ebenso in der Band waren, fand ich erst danach heraus. 😉

Sam Gruber ist mit seinem Album „A Decade Full Of Songs“ unterwegs, welches 10 Jahre Songwriting beinhalte. Dabei beinhaltete ihr Set neben anderen etwa die Songs „Cinnamon & Honey“, „The Earth Won’t Stop Spinning“ sowie „Cherry Merry Joly Juicy“. Seine Songs klingen nach Pop/Folk mit dem einen oder anderen weiteren Genre-Einfluss. Für „Since 1985“ setzte sich Ephraim ans Hackbrett [Video hier], Walliser (!) Hackbrett. Ein anderes Lied brachte etwas Reggae mit sich. Zum Schluss spielte Sam dann als Zugabe noch alleine das Lied „Lullaby“, das er für seine Freundin geschrieben hatte.

Nachhause ging es dann zum Glück mehrheitlich neben der Polizei vorbei. Meine Konzertbegleiterin war mit dem Auto da und hat mich danach bis zum Bahnhof gefahren. Danke nochmals ♥ Naja, gewirkt hat die Polizeipräsenz offensichtlich: Anscheinend gab es vor allem Cyberkrieg und in Berns Strassen blieb es mehrheitlich ruhig.

 

Infos zum Konzertlokal und den Bands findet ihr hier:

www.onobern.ch
www.jesters-quest.com
www.samgruber.ch

Please follow and like us:

Ersten Kommentar schreiben

Antworten

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.


*