Kensington in Amsterdam

Finally, Eloi, Caspar, Jan and Niels positioned themselves on the stage. Caspar let the guitar roar, the intro started. The square construction rose slowly into the air, the bright lights blinking and flickering. In a rough, slightly scratchy voice, Eloi began “All Before You”. They continued with “Rely on”. Every time it gets under your skin when Eloi sings insistently “… but I’ve got to rely on you …”

Latest at the third song Niels shirt disappeared as usual. With his well-trained, bare chest, he sat behind his drums and energetically pushed “Do I Ever”, one of my favorite songs, while the pyros shot up.

The stage was huge. The LED wall in the background seemed even much bigger. The graphics and pictures on it as well as the whole light and pyro show during the concert were totally impressive. Again and again they astonished you.

While Kensington played their setlist song after song, occasionally animating and challenging the audience to sing along, I was totally happy to be there. But somehow I soon had the feeling that I was missing something.

Trip to the Netherlands

I don’t know, whether you know the Dutch indie rock band Kensington. I first saw them at Gurtenfestival in 2014 and was immediately impressed. But here in Switzerland they are still playing smaller shows like at Dynamo Zurich or Bierhübeli Bern. They even shared the concert evenings in a double concert with the Bernese band Yokko.

However, they are really big at home in the Netherlands and have already sold out the Ziggo Dome in Amsterdam three times in 2016. Well, if you ask the Dutch about the band, surprisingly not everyone seems to know them. But the numbers speak for themselves. Because in 2017 they broke this record and sold within a very short time 54’000 tickets. So they filled the Amsterdam Arena even on five evenings. My Dutch (pen) friend got us tickets for Friday night – a full year in advance.

Red velvet cake in Amsterdam

But anticipation is known to be the greatest pleasure. I spent 4 days in the Netherlands, especially in Rotterdam. I love to combine my concert trips abroad with short breaks. Of course it’s worth twice then. So I spent a lot of time in Rotterdam, where I also met other friends, had delicious food (such as at Jamie’s Italian) and went shopping. A small photo shoot at the especially for Instagrammer colorfully painted Samsung Pink Wall was also in.

The afternoon of the concert was spent in Amsterdam. We actually wanted to have lunch at the Blond Amsterdam Cafe, but after 2.30pm, it was just too late. There was “only” cake left. Yes, we just could not resist the delicious red velvet cake.

Looks great, right? It also tasted absolutely fantastic! I can totally recommend the small, sweet cafe. Then there was some sightseeing at Museums District before going to the arena.

Ziggo Dome

There were not that many people around 30 minutes before the doors were opened. I was a bit scared of the safety check, because in the last few months safety has been increased everywhere and it is sometimes difficult to know where what was allowed and where not. But honestly, that was called control? The entrance was already divided into various sectors and the control was made so fast. We were inside the arena in no time. We were finally in the 7th to 10th row. Suited great!

But hey, 17’000 people fit in there? More than into the Hallenstadion Zurich? Yes, when I google, I am told that the Ziggo Dome has a capacity of 17,000 viewers. More than the Hallenstadion in Zurich. Just, this arena somehow looked so much smaller than the Hallenstadion. Haha. Well, if you divide the 54’000 sold tickets into the 5 evenings, that would be just under 11’000 per evening. About the amount they let inside in Zurich. It seemed still smaller.

When you got into the entrance hall, the whole place looked somehow like at a cinema. The red carpet, the food stalls. The fries smelled delicious. But this particular token system put me off buying some.

Support of the evening: The Brahms

There was a different support act every night. This time it was The Brahms, a five-member indie band from Utrecht. So I’ve got the right evening. They stood sideways on a smaller stage, which later expanded at Kensington to the huge main stage.

I loved the Brahms. Above all frontman David Westmeijer, who knew how to take and entertain the audience well with an energy and simultaneously ease. Other support acts have certainly had more trouble.

So far, the band has released two EPs. The debut album is still pending.

Kensington at Ziggo Dome

The setlist consisted next to the songs like “Fiji”, “Done with it”, “Riddles” or “Do not Walk Away” from their four albums, also from the Armin van Burren cover “Heading Up High”. Sometimes the songs were rocking, catchy and danceable. Then they were more romantic and touching again. For example, when the arena was turned into a sea of lights at “Little Lights” or Caspar sat down at the piano for “Sorry”. Definitely two highlights of the evening.

Setlist:

  1. All Before You
  2. Rely On
  3. Do I ever
  4. Send Me Away
  5. Bridges
  6. Fiji
  7. Done With It
  8. Don’t Walk Away
  9. Slicer
  10. Rivals
  11. Little Light
  12. Sorry
  13. Storms
  14. Words You Don’t Know
  15. Control
  16. We Are The Young
  17. Regret
  18. Riddles
  19. Heading Up High (Armin van Burren Cover)
  20. Let Go
  21. War
  22. Home Againencore:
  23. All For Nothing
  24. Streets
  25. St. Helena

In the end, the band once again turned up with their hits “All For Nothing” and “Streets”, before the concert ended with “St. Helena”.

Missing connection

As exciting and cool all the fountains and wallpapers, graphics and lights were, as much as I loved to see the band live, the tingling and excitement was not that pronounced at some point. The connection was missing somehow and it just didn’t seem to thrill me like it had done at shows before – the small shows here in Switzerland. The fact that I didn’t understand most of what was said to the audience due to my lack of language skills, certainly didn’t help either. But that had been predictable.

So far, I had experienced the Dutch fans (outside the Netherlands) differently at concerts. Much more energetic, lively and some even pretty funky. It felt more like being at Hallenstadion in Switzerland, when the audience again doesn’t really get going.

So the front rows were great. They were fully involved, participated and practically sung their lungs out. But otherwise one would hardly have thought that so much audience was there. But even my friend, who has been to Ziggo Dome several times, had never seen such a bad audience. The days before were allegedly not necessarily better. So it wasn’t just me.

Small locations preferred

It was a nice concert and great to see the band in their home country. But in the end there was more of a certain, disappointing feeling. My expectations had probably been too high. So abroad, it is not necessarily automatically better 😉 So I’m looking forward to the small Swiss concerts again and hope not to wait too long.

GALLERY


The Brahms

Kensington

Information about the bands can be found here:

kensingtonband.com
thebrahms.com

Please follow and like us:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

Kensington in Amsterdam

Endlich positionierten sich Eloi, Caspar, Jan und Niels auf der Bühne. Caspar liess die Gitarre erklingen, das Intro startete. Die quadratische Konstruktion erhob sich langsam in die Lüfte, die hellen Lichter blinkten und flackerten. Mit rauer, etwas kratziger Stimme startete Eloi “All Before You”. Sie fuhren mit “Rely on” fort. Es geht jedes Mal direkt unter die Haut, wenn Eloi so eindringlich “…but I’ve got to have you to rely on…”singt.

Spätestens beim dritten Song verschwand dann wie gewohnt Niels Shirt. Mit durchtrainierten, nackten Oberkörper sass er hinter seinem Schlagzeug und trieb “Do I Ever”, einer meiner Lieblingssongs, energisch voran, während die Pyros in die Höhe schossen.

Die Bühne war riesig. Die LED-Wand im Hintergrund schien noch viel grösser. Die Grafiken und Bilder darauf genauso wie die ganze Licht- und Pyroshow während des Konzertes waren total beeindruckend. Immer wieder brachten sie einen zum Staunen.

Während Kensington Song für Song ihre Setlist spielten, dabei immer mal wieder das Publikum zum Mitsingen aufforderten und animierten, war ich total happy dabei zu sein. Aber irgendwie hatte ich doch bald mal das Gefühl, es fehlte mir was.

Trip in die Niederlande

Ich weiss nicht, ob ihr die Niederländische Indie-Rockband Kensington kennt. Ich hab sie zum ersten Mal 2014 am Gurtenfestival gesehen und war sofort begeistert. Aber hier in der Schweiz spielen sie bis jetzt noch eher kleinere Shows wie etwa im Dynamo Zürich oder Bierhübeli Bern. Sie teilten sich den Konzerteabend etwa auch schon im Doppelkonzert mit der Berner Band Yokko.

Zuhause in den Niederlande sind sie allerdings richtig gross und haben schon 2016 den Ziggo Dome in Amsterdam dreifach ausverkauft. Gut, fragt man die Holländer nach der Band, scheinen sie überraschenderweise noch lange nicht alle zu kennen. Aber die Zahlen sprechen für sich. Denn 2017 brachen sie diesen Rekord und verkauften innert kürzester Zeit 54’000 Tickets. Sie füllten damit die Amsterdamer Arena an fünf Abenden. Meine niederländische (Brief-) Freundin hatte uns Tickets für den Freitagabend besorgt – ein ganzes Jahr im Voraus.

Red Velvet Cake in Amsterdam

Aber Vorfreude ist ja bekanntlich die schönste Freude. Ich verbrachte somit 4 Tage in den Niederlande, vor allem in Rotterdam. Ich liebe es meine Auslandkonzertrips mit Kurzurlauben zu verbinden. Lohnt sich dann natürlich gleich doppelt. Somit hab ich viel Zeit in Rotterdam verbracht, mich dort auch mit anderen Freunden noch getroffen, waren lecker essen (etwa bei Jamie’s Italian) und shoppen. Ein kleines Fotoshooting an der extra für Instagrammer buntbemalten Samsung Pink Wall war auch noch drin.

Den Nachmittag des Konzertes verbrachten wir in Amsterdam. Wir wollten im Blonde Amsterdam Cafe eigentlich Mittagessen, aber waren nach 14.30 Uhr einfach (knapp) zu spät dran. Da gabs “nur” noch Kuchen. Ja, dem leckeren Red Velvet Cake konnten wir da einfach nicht widerstehen.

Sieht grossartig aus, nicht? Er schmeckte auch absolut fantastisch! Ich kann euch das kleine, süsse Cafe total empfehlen. Dann gab es noch etwas Sightseeing im Museums District, bevor es zur Halle ging.

Der Ziggo Dome

Rund 30 Minuten vor Türöffnung waren noch gar nicht so viele Leute da. Ich hatte ein Bisschen Schiss vorm Sicherheitscheck, weil ja die letzten Monate überall die Sicherheit erhöht wurde und es teils schwierig ist zu wissen, wo sie was jetzt reinlassen und wo nicht. Aber ganz ehrlich, das nannten die Kontrolle? Der Eingang war bereits in die diverse Sektoren eingeteilt und die Kontrolle wurde nur so schnell schnell gemacht. Da waren wir im Nu in der Halle drin. Wir standen schliesslich etwa in der 7.-10. Reihe. Passte super!

Aber hey, da sollen 17’000 Leute reinpassen? Mehr als im Hallenstadion Zürich? Ja, wenn ich google, dann wird mir gesagt, dass der Ziggo Dome eine Kapazität von 17’000 Zuschauern habe. Also mehr als das Hallenstadion in Zürich. Nur, diese Arena sah irgendwie so viel kleiner aus als das Hallenstadion. Haha. Gut, wenn man die 54’000 verkauften Tickets durch die 5 Abende rechnet, dann wären das knapp 11’000 pro Abend.Ungefähr so viele lassen sie in Zürich rein. Es wirkte aber trotzdem kleiner.

Kam man in die Eingangshalle, wirkte das ganze fast etwas wie im Kino. Der rote Teppich, die Foodstände. Die Pommes rochen super lecker. Aber dieses spezielle Jeton-System brachte mich dann doch davon ab, mir welche zu kaufen.

Support des Abends: The Brahms

Es hatte jeden Abend einen anderen Support Act, an diesem waren es The Brahms, eine fünfköpfige Indieband aus Utrecht.  Da hab ich mal den richtigen Abend erwischt. Sie standen seitlich auf einer kleineren Bühne, die sich später bei Kensington zur riesigen Hauptbühne ausweitete.

Ich war von The Brahms begeistert. Allen voran von Frontmann David Westmeijer, der mit einer Energie und gliechzeitigen Leichtigkeit das Publikum gut zu nehmen wusste und schon gut mitreissen konnte. Also da hatten andere Support Acts bestimmt schon mehr Mühe gehabt.

Bisher hat die Band zwei EPs veröffentlicht. Das Debutalbum steht noch aus.

Kensington im Ziggo Dome

Die Setlist bestand neben den Songs wie “Fiji”, “Done with it”, “Riddles” oder “Don’t Walk Away” ab ihren vier Alben, ebenfalls aus dem Armin van Burren Cover “Heading Up High”. Mal waren die Songs rockig, mitreissend und tanzbar. Dann waren sie wieder romantischer und berührend. Etwa als die Arena bei “Little Lights” in ein Lichtermeer getaucht wurde oder Caspar sich für “Sorry” ans Piano setzte. Definitiv zwei Highlights des Abends.

Setlist:

  1. All Before You
  2. Rely On
  3. Do I ever
  4. Send Me Away
  5. Bridges
  6. Fiji
  7. Done With It
  8. Don’t Walk Away
  9. Slicer
  10. Rivals
  11. Little Light
  12. Sorry
  13. Storms
  14. Words You Don’t Know
  15. Control
  16. We Are The Young
  17. Regret
  18. Riddles
  19. Heading Up High (Armin van Burren Cover)
  20. Let Go
  21. War
  22. Home AgainZugabe:
  23. All For Nothing
  24. Streets
  25. St. Helena

Am Ende drehte die Band nochmals mit ihren Hits “All For Nothing” und “Streets” richtig auf, bevor das Konzert mit “St. Helena” zu Ende ging.

Fehlende Verbindung

So aufregend und cool die ganzen Feuerfontänen und Hintergrundbilder, Grafiken und Lichter also waren; so sehr ich es liebte, die Band live zu sehen, war das Kribbeln und die Aufregung irgendwann nicht mehr ganz so ausgeprägt.  Die Verbindung fehlte irgendwie und es schien mich einfach nicht so zu packen wie es das bei Shows davor – die kleinen Shows bei uns in der Schweiz – getan hatte. Dass ich das Meiste, was zum Publikum gesprochen wurde, durch meine eher nicht vorhanden Sprachkenntnisse nicht verstand, half sicher auch nicht. Das war allerdings vorauszusehen.

Ich hatte die holländischen Fans (ausserhalb der Niederlande) also bisher an Konzerten anders erlebt. Viel energischer, lebendiger und manche sogar ziemlich flippig. Es fühlte sich nun aber eher an wie bei uns in der Schweiz im Hallenstadion, wenn das Publikum mal wieder nicht richtig in die Gänge kommt.

Also die Front rows waren super. Die waren voll dabei, haben mitgemacht und sich praktisch die Lungen raus gesungen. Aber sonst hätte man leider kaum meinen können, dass so viel Publikum da war. Aber sogar meine Freundin, die öfters im Ziggo Dome an Konzerten war, habe da noch nie so ein schlechtes Publikum gesehen. Es lag also nicht nur an mir.

Kleine Locations bevorzugt

Es war ein schönes Konzert und toll die Band in ihrer Heimat zu sehen. Aber am Ende war da eher so ein gewisses, enttäuschendes Gefühl. Meine Erwartungen waren wohl zu hoch gewesen. Im Ausland ist es, anders als bisher erlebt, anscheinend doch nicht unbedingt automatisch besser 😉 Ich freu mich also umso mehr wieder auf die kleinen Schweizer Konzerte und hoffe nicht zu lange warten zu müssen.

 

GALLERY


The Brahms

Kensington

Infos zu den Bands findet ihr hier:

kensingtonband.com
thebrahms.com

Please follow and like us: