Open Season present female reggae voices

When Open Season hatch an idea, you can expect it to be good. Their newest project is definitely better than good, it’s really great. “Open Season presents female reggae voices” led the band and five singers with five shows within four days through Switzerland. Tonight they celebrated the finale of their mini-tour at the festival “Am Schluss” in Thun.

Concert withdrawl

It’s been quiet around Open Season for a while now. Because of a longer stay abroad of some members and the work on new song material, there’s already the second year without concerts. – Ok, unless YB become champion, then of course they would have to play one. 😉 – The band members started to miss the live performances and so the idea for the project “Female Reggae Voices” developed. The best way to read, where the project came from, is to read the interview on reggaenews.ch HERE.

As often you read that there are not enough good female singers in Switzerland. I can’t agree at all. Well, most are not as well known as Anna Rossinelli, Sandee or the male musician colleagues Bligg and Gölä. But so many great female voices are represented in the Swiss music market: Ana Scent, Klain Karoo frontwoman Carla, Zibbz singer Coco, Veronica Fusaro or Forma frontwoman Priscilla. These just to name a few. You just have to take a closer look and listen. I can now even name you some out of the reggae niche 😉

Restrained start with Naïma

Open Season started with an intro from their own songs “Step by Step”, “You Look Good” and “Arise”, but quickly made it clear that they will not be in the spotlight this evening. Open Season served as a backing band for the female singers who are the focus of this project. But yes, it didn’t work without any Open Season at all  😉

The young Swiss reggae singer Naïma was the first to present herself and start with her “Love Of Life”. The song even made it into the top 20 reggae songs in the SRF3 reggae special. She describes her style as roots reggae with afro blues influences. With the other songs “Daddy”, “Violence” and “Sleepin’ Lion” her appearance was a bit more restrained, but her voice no less impressive. It promised to be a nice, relaxed Sunday evening.

A lot of soul and warmth from Biel

 More vigorously, however, it became with the sisters Irina and Caroline Mossi. The singers from Biel with Congolese roots discovered the love of music early. The first song in their short set, “Love Detective”, is one of the “Best CH Reggae Songs”, as is Naïma’s “Love of Life”. With a lot of soul and warmth in their voices, they also presented “Rising”, “Come with me” and “Hide away”.

Power from the Netherlands

After a short 15min break, the whole atmosphere changed, became more upbeat and even more lively. Open Season frontman Santosh announced the singer Samora from Amsterdam, the Netherlands. Somehow I already had a feeling that in the second set probably a whole other energy would come to us. My feeling was confirmed immediately.

Samora entered the stage in a purple skirt, black top and high boots. She was wearing a hat and sunglasses. In the first song, her current single “Blazin ‘up the faya”, she was already in good spirits and full of energy. With the support of the Open Season band and a backing vocalist, she knew exactly how she could thrill the audience at the Mühliplatz.

Samora’s songs are a mix of reggae, modern soul, funk and pop. She is also experimental and does not shy away from trying out new sounds. “Open your Door”, “Momma Said”, “Rise Up” and “Over and over” were among many other great, catchy songs part of her set. Sometimes she was supported by the complete band incl. horn section. Then she sang without the horns or even reduced only accompanied by guitarist Res.

In the end, Open Season frontman Santosh joined and they finished with the Open Season Songs, a ska medley and “Ride my bike”. Also the previous singers Naïma, Irina and Caroline joined. And the audience didn’t let them go just like that. Everyone would have liked to listen longer.

Last chance

If you missed the short “Open Season present female reggae voices” tour, you do not have to despair: There will be one last chance to see the concert on 6 September 2018. In Biel there will be another gig at Chessu-Coupole.

 

You can find information about the band and singers here:

www.openseason.ch
Naima
www.samoramusic.com

The festival will last until July 29, 2018.
Infos: amschluss.ch

 

GALLERY

Please follow and like us:

Open Season present female reggae voices

Wenn Open Season was aushecken, kann man davon ausgehen, dass es gut wird. Ihr neuestes Projekt ist auch definitiv besser als gut, es ist richtig grossartig. “Open Season present female reggae voices” führte die Band und fünf Sängerinnen mit 5 Shows innert vier Tagen durch die Schweiz. Heute Abend feierten sie das Finale ihrer Mini-Tour am Festival “Am Schluss” in Thun.

Konzertentzug

Um Open Season ist es jetzt bereits länger ruhig. Wegen einem längeren Auslandaufenthalt einiger Mitglieder und der Arbeit an neuem Songmaterial stehen bereits das zweite Jahr keine Konzerte an. – Ok, ausser YB werde Meister, dann müssten sie natürlich eins spielen. 😉 – Die Bandmitglieder begannen die Live-Auftritte zu vermissen und so entwickelte sich die Idee fürs Projekt “Female Reggae Voices”. Wie das Projekt genau entstanden ist, lest ihr am besten im Interview bei reggaenews.ch HIER.

So oft liest man, es habe zu wenig gute Sängerinnen in der Schweiz. Da kann ich ja überhaupt nicht zu stimmen. Gut, die meisten sind nicht so bekannt wie etwa Anna Rossinelli, Sandee oder die männlichen Musikerkollegen Bligg und Gölä. Aber so viele grossartige weibliche Stimmen sind im Schweizer Musikmarkt vertreten: Ana Scent, Klain Karoo Frontfrau Carla, Zibbz Sängerin Coco, Veronica Fusaro oder Forma-Frontfrau Priscilla. Diese nur um einige zu nennen. Ihr müsst euch halt einfach etwas genauer umsehen und -hören. Neu kann ich nun euch sogar einige aus der Reggae Nische nennen 😉

Zurückhaltender Start mit Naïma

Open Season starteten mit einem Intro aus den eigenen Songs “Step by Step”, “You Look Good” und “Arise”, machten aber schnell klar, dass nicht sie an diesem Abend im Vordergrund stehen werden. Open Season dienten an diesem Abend als Begleitband der Sängerinnen, die im Mittelpunkt dieses Projekt stehen. Aber ja, ganz ohne Open Season ging es dann doch nicht 😉

Die junge Schweizer Reggae Sängerin Naïma war die erste, die sich präsentierte und mit ihrem “Love Of Life” startete. Der Song schaffte es im SRF3 Reggae Special sogar unter die Top 20, der besten Reggae Songs. Sie bezeichnet ihren Stil selbst als Rootsreggae mit Afro Blues Einflüssen. Mit den weiteren Songs “Daddy”, “Violence” und “Sleepin’ Lion” war ihr Auftritt etwas zurückhaltender, ihre Stimme aber nicht weniger beeindruckend. Es versprach ein schöner, gemütlicher Sonntagabend zu werden.

Viel Soul und Wärme aus Biel

Etwas energischer ging es dann aber bereits mit den Schwestern Irina und Caroline Mossi zu und her. Die aus Biel stammenden Sängerinnen mit kongolesischen Wurzeln, haben die Liebe zur Musik schon früh entdeckt. Das erste Lied in ihrem kurzen Set, “Love Detective” gehört, wie Naïma’s “Love of Life”, ebenfalls zu den “Best CH-Reggae Songs”. Mit viel Soul und Wärme in ihren Stimmen präsentierten sie zusätzlich auch “Rising”, “Come with me” und “Hide away”.

Power aus den Niederlanden

Nach einer kurzen 15min Pause änderte sich die ganze Atmosphäre, wurde aufgedrehter und noch lebendiger. Open Season Frontmann Santosh kündigte die Sängerin Samora aus Amsterdam, Niederlande, an. Da hatte ich irgendwie schon so ein Gefühl, dass somit im zweiten Set wahrscheinlich eine ganze andere Energie auf uns zukommen würde. Mein Gefühl bestätigte sich auch sofort.

Samora betrat die Bühne im lila Rock, schwarzen Top sowie hohen Stiefel. Sie trug Hut und Sonnenbrille. Gut gelaunt und voller Energie riss sie während dem ersten Lied, ihre aktuelle Single “Blazin’ up the faya”, bereits alle mit. Mit Unterstützung der Open Season Band und einer Backgroundsängerin wusste sie genau, wie sie das Publikum auf dem Mühliplatz begeistern konnte.

Samora’s Songs bestehen aus einem Mix von Reggae, modernem Soul, Funk und Pop. Ausserdem sei sie experimentierfreudig und scheue sich nicht, neue Sounds auszuprobieren. “Open your Door”, “Momma Said”, “Rise Up” und “Over and over” gehörten neben vielen anderen tollen, mitreissenden Songs zu ihrem Set. Mal wurde sie von der kompletten Band inkl. Bläser unterstützt. Dann sang sie ohne die Bläser oder sogar ganz reduziert, nur begleitet von Gitarrist Res.

Am Ende kam Open Season Frontmann Santosh hinzu und sie machten den Abschluss mit den Open Season Songs, einem Ska Medley und “Ride my bike”. Da durften auch die vorangegangen Sängerinnen Naïma, Irina und Caroline nicht fehlen. Und einfach so liess das Publikum sie dann gar nicht gehen. Da hätten alle wohl noch gerne einiges länger zugehört.

Letzte Chance

Wer die kurze “Open Season present female Reggae voices“ Tour tatsächlich verpasst hat, muss nicht verzagen. Am 06.09.2018 gibt es nochmals eine letzte Chance das Konzert zu sehen. In Biel wird es im Chessu-Coupole einen weiteren Auftritt zu sehen geben. 

Infos zu den Band und Sängerinnen findet ihr hier:

www.openseason.ch
Naima
www.samoramusic.com

Das Festival am Schluss läuft noch bis am 29. Juli 2018.
Infos: amschluss.ch

 

GALLERY

Please follow and like us: