Rose Ann Dimalanta in Thun

This Friday evening Rose Ann Dimalanta, also known as RAD, was playing at Konzepthalle 6 in Thun. Her music can be found in the categories of funk, soul, jazz and latin, what was rather new to me and I mainly heard from Seven so far. I had no clue what to expect. But my thought was, that what I knew about her and with Massimo playing with her, that could actually only become a good evening. And it was.

Rose Ann Dimalanta is an american singer/songwriter and pianist with Filippino roots, who already started playing the piano at the age of 4. Some might know her as RAD, her solo project she started back in 1992 and has release several studio albums since. Others might know her as a band member of Prince, with who she was touring in 2003-2004. Besides she has worked together with big names as Stevie Wonder, BeyoncĂ© or Candy Dulfer and is an actual member of Swiss musician Seven’s band.

After a long family break Rose Ann now has started a new trio project with bass player RAymond McKinley, who she knows since school band, and Massimo Buonnano, who’s among others also a member of Seven’s band. On the road with new songs they presented them in a showcase also to the Thun audience. Well, here showcase is to understand a little bit differently than when I visit other showcases. Usually showcases are short 45-60mins concerts. In Rose Ann’s case they call it this way, just because she’s presenting her new project as well as the new songs.

In the past Rose Ann wrote many songs about partying and dancing, nowadays her songs are quiter and deeper. With age you take life as it comes and not as serious anymore. But she still loved dancing and partying, the petite musician was laughing. And next to it she was telling that evening from her career and life. She talked to her audience in a mix of German and English, what made her very likable. And even with her success and top-class references the musican seems totally down to earth.

Her voice is strong, but also warm and gentle. Mostly they played as a trio,with her either on the keyboard or piano. But for a few songs she was also sitting on stage all alone. They were mainly new titles, only few older ones, presenting to the Thun audience. Many quite, soulful titles as “Miles”, “Dinner for one”, Imperfect person” or “The meassure of a man”. But her songs are also very jazzy, rhythmic and catchy, peppered with some latin sounds. Many songs contain longer instrumental parts and solos. The latin song written by bass player Raymond was even completely instrumental. And towards the end of course the funk couldn’t be missed. Therefor she even made the audience – even a little hesistant – sing along.

It was a really great concert and a wonderful evening. It’s sure worth to keep following her music and her way. Go see her with the next occastion, even like me you may not have listened to this kind of music so often.

Infos about Rose Ann Dimalanta you can find on roseanndimalanta.com
More Infos about Konzepthalle 6 and their programm you find on www.konzepthalle6.ch

 

Please follow and like us:

2 Comments

  1. Dear Rose-Ann, I’m so very pleased to hear from you again. I own all your records, and played many songs of your cd’s with my own band. Also visited all the concerts when you were in the Netherlands, brought you to the Boerderij Venue on June 30th 2008. You might remember this 🙂 ….
    When can we expect a new visit to the Netherlands again ?

    Warm greetings,

    Frans Ellinger

    • Dear Frans Ellinger,

      Thanks for the comment. This is a private blog by me, Sarah, and not by Rose-Ann.

      What I know is, that Rose-Ann is actually on an extensive tour through Germany with Swiss singer Seven.
      Seven will also be in the Netherlands on 19th January 2018 for Eurosonic Noorderslag 2018 in Amsterdam.
      I don’t know if he’ll be there with the complete band, but Rose-Ann might be joining him there as well.

      Greetings
      Sarah

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

Rose Ann Dimalanta in Thun

An diesem Freitagabend spielte Rose Ann Dimalanta, auch bekannt als RAD, in der Konzepthalle 6 Thun. Ihre Musik bewegt sich in den Sparten Funk, Soul, Jazz und Latin was eher neu für mich ist und ich bisher hauptsächlich etwa bei Seven gehört hab. Ich hatte keine Ahnung, was zu erwarten war. Meine Überlegung war aber, dass mit allem was ich von ihr weiss und da Massimo mit ihr spielt, das eigentlich ein guter Abend werden musste. Und das wurde es auch.

Rose Ann Dimalanta ist eine amerikanische Singer/Songwriterin und Pianistin mit philippinischen Wurzeln, die bereits mit 4 Jahren angefangen hat Piano zu spielen. Manchen mag sie als RAD bekannt sein, ihr Solo-Projekt, das sie 1992 gestartet und seither mehrere Studioalben veröffentlicht hat. Andere kennen sie womöglich als Bandmitglied von Prince, mit dem sie von 2003-2004 auf Tour war. Ausserdem  hat sie mit Grössen wie Stevie Wonder, Beyonce oder Candy Dulfer zusammen gearbeitet und ist aktuell Teil der Band des Schweizer Musikers Seven.

Nach langer Familienpause hat Rose Ann nun zusammen mit Bassist Raymond McKinley, den sie aus der Schulband kennt, und Massimo Buonnano, der unter anderem ebenfalls in Sevens Band spielt,  ein neues Trio-Projekt gestartet. Unterwegs mit neuen Songs präsentieren sie diese in einem Showcase auch dem Thuner Publikum. Gut, Showcase ist hier etwas anders zu verstehen, wie wenn ich sonstige Showcases besuche. Normalerweise sind Showcases kurze 45-60min Konzerte. In Rose Ann’s Fall nennen sie das mehr so, weil sie damit einfach ihr neues Projekt sowie die neuen Lieder vorstellte.

Früher habe Rose Ann viele Lieder übers Party machen und Tanzen geschrieben, heute seien ihre Songs etwas ruhiger und tiefgründiger. Mit dem Alter nehme man halt das Leben so wie es kommt und nicht mehr ganz so ernst. Sie tanze und mache aber immer noch gerne Party, lachte die zierliche Musikerin. Und auch sonst erzählte sie an dem Abend einiges aus ihrem Werdegang und Leben. Sie sprach zu ihrem Publikum in einem Mix aus Deutsch und Englisch, was sie sehr sympathisch machte. Und trotz ihrer Erfolge und hochkarätigen Referenzen wirkt die Musikerin total bodenständig.

Ihre Stimme ist kräftig, aber auch warm und sanft. Meistens spielten sie im Trio, sie entweder am Keyboard oder Piano. Aber für ein paar Songs sass sie auch mal ganz alleine auf der Bühne. Es waren hauptsächlich neue Titel, nur wenige alte, die sie dem Thuner Publikum spielten. Viele ruhige, soulige Titel wie „Miles“, „Dinner for one“ „Imperfect Person“ oder „The Meassure of a Man“. Ihre Lieder sind aber auch sehr jazzig, rhythmisch und mitreissend, teils gespickt mit Latin-Klängen. Viele Lieder enthielten längere Instrumentalteile und Soli. Das von Bassisten Raymond geschriebene Latin-Lied war sogar komplett instrumental. Und gegen Abschluss durfte natürlich auch etwas Funk nicht fehlen. Dabei brachte sie das Publikum sogar noch – zwar etwas zögerlich – zum Mitsingen.

Es war ein richtig tolles Konzert und ein wunderbarer Abend.  Es lohnt sich auf jeden Fall ihre Musik und ihren Weg weiterhin mitzuverfolgen. Geht bei Gelegenheit mal bei ihr vorbei, auch wenn ihr wie ich vielleicht sonst nicht so oft diese Musikrichtungen hört.

Infos zu Rose Ann Dimalanta findet ihr auf roseanndimalanta.com
Mehr zur Konzepthalle 6 und dessen Programm findet ihr auf www.konzepthalle6.ch

 

Please follow and like us:

Hinterlasse jetzt einen Kommentar

Kommentar hinterlassen

E-Mail Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.


*