Sunset Sons in Bern

The Indie-Rock-Band Sunset Sons, with their four members from UK and Australia, released with their debut album “Very Rarely Say Die” a great summer soundtrack and introduced their melodic, hymnal songs during their European Tour also in Bern. The sound reminds of Maroon 5 or Kings of Leon. No wonder, as the Kings of Leon producer Jacquire King worked with them. An album to relax and enjoy the summer. Unfortunately the audience seemed not to be in summer mood yet and barely let themselves carry away. On that evening there was just way too much talking and not enough listening.

Fascinating, when a band only released their debut album and fills a Bierhubeli so well. They are known by now and so the album was long overdue. But they also were very busy touring festivals last summer and even on big tour as a support of Imagine Dragons. The young Australian singer/songwriter Hein Cooper opened the evening. He was standing on stage alone with guitare, loopstation and synthies. The rather electronical songs I didn’t like too much, the accoustic ones though were quite good. He won’t become my favourite, but it was okay to listen to him. But this obviously did the fewest. It was so much talking in the location, that I often had troubles in front row to hear Hein cooper singing and to understand him at all. He did totally drown in the chattering. Umm, excuse me, but I hadn’t paid to hear all your blabber!

After 9pm Sunset Sons started then. Sunset Sons are Rory Williams (lead vocals and keys), Jed Laidlaw (drums), Robin Widram (guitare) and Pete Harper (bass). I have discovered the band last summer on tent stage at Gurtenfestival and was immediately totally thrilled. The four surfer guys met each other in France and founded the band there.

They started their 1 hour show with “Know My Name”, the first track of their debut. It was followed by a

Sunset Sons - Very rarely say die | © Sunset Sons
Sunset Sons – Very rarely say die |
© Sunset Sons

great setlist, that included among others my favourite “September Song”, “Tic Toc” or also “Gold”. Frontman Rory kept hitting the keys, seemed to be moving constantly and animated the audience to go along. I was under their spell immediately, so wouldn’t really realize that there was still a lot of talking esp. in the back. The concert first didn’t really seem to gain monumentum. Inbetween there were 2-3 songs like “She Wants” or “Remember”, the audience knew and it happened they’d sing along, but strictly speaking it took about the whole concert, until things hot up with the encore. When Frontguy Rory jumped into the audience, everyone finally seemed to be at it. With “I Can’t Wait”, “Bring The Lights” and “On The Road”, that were part of the encore, the vibes were finally there – but the concert at the end. I would have loved to see the concert the day before in Zurich to compare, but if half of the audience is talking, there can’t be any vibes…

In the end, I had loved to listen to the guys so much, but didn’t think the atmosphere was very great for most of the concert. Sunset Sons were there for a chat and to take pictures afterwards. Seem to be four nice and relaxed guys, the way you would imagine listening to their music. The band is playing this summer at St. Gallen Openair by the way. Hopefully the atmosphere will be better there with less talking in the audience.

more photos in gallery

Youtube-Playlists:
Hein Cooper
Sunset Sons

Official websites:
www.heincooper.com
www.sunsetsons.com

Please follow and like us:

Sunset Sons in Bern

Die Indie-Rock-Band Sunset Sons, mit ihren vier Mitgliedern aus UK bzw. Australien, haben am 1. April mit ihrem Debutalbum „Very Rarely Say Die“ einen tollen Sommersoundtrack veröffentlicht und stellten ihre melodiösen, hymnischen Songs während ihrer Europatour auch in Bern vor. Der Sound erinnert etwa an Maroon 5 oder Kings of Leon. Kein Wunder, da der Kings of Leon-Produzent Jacquire King mitgewirkt hat. Ein Album um sich baumeln zu lassen, den Sommer zu geniessen. Leider schien aber das Publikum noch nicht in Sommerlaune zu sein und sich nur schlecht als recht mitreissen lassen wollen. Es wurde an dem Abend nämlich einfach viel zu viel geredet und zu wenig zugehört.

Faszinierend wenn eine Band gerade das Debutalbum veröffentlicht hat und ein Lokal wie das Bierhübeli so gut füllt. Kennen tat man sie also mittlerweilen und das Album war somit längst überfällig. Aber sie warenja letzten Sommer auch ausgiebig auf Festivaltour und sogar mit Imagine Dragon als Support auf gross unterwegs. Eröffnen tat den Abend der junge australische Singer / Songwriter Hein Cooper. Er stellte sich allein mit Gitarre, Loopstation und Synthies auf die Bühne. Die eher elektronischen Songs mochte ich nicht so sehr, die akustischen hingegen fand ich ganz gut. Mein Favourit wird er nicht, aber es war okay ihm zuzuhören. Das taten offensichtlich aber die Wenigsten. Es war so ein Geschwätze in dem Lokal, ich hatte in der fordersten Reihe also oft Mühe Hein Cooper singen zu hören und ihn überhaupt zu verstehen. Er wurde total vom Gerede übertönt. Ähm, Entschuldigung, aber ich hatte wirklich nicht für euer Geschwätze bezahlt!

Nach 21 Uhr legten Sunset Sons dann los. Sunset Sons sind Rory Williams (Leadgesang und Keyboard), Jed Laidlaw (Schlagzeug), Robin Windram (Gitarre) und Pete Harper (Bass). Ich hatte die Band letzten Sommer auf der Zeltbühne am Gurtenfestival entdeckt und war auf Anhieb total begeistert. Die vier Surfer lernten sich in Frankreich kennen und gründeten dort ihre Band.

Sie starteten ihre rund einstündige Show mit „Know My Name“, dem ersten Titel ihres Debuts. Darauf folgte eine tolle Setlist, wozu etwa mein Favourite „September Song“, „Tic Toc“ oder auch „Gold“

Sunset Sons - Very rarely say die | © Sunset Sons
Sunset Sons –
Very rarely say die© Bild: Sunset Sons

gehörten. Frontmann Rory schlug in die Tasten, schien ständig in Bewegung und animierte die Zuschauer zum Mitmachen. Ich war schon längst in ihrem Bann, kriegte gar nicht so mit, dass eigentlich nach wie vor sehr viel Geredet statt zugehört wurde, vor allem im hinteren Teil. Das Konzert schien lange nicht so richtig in die Gänge zu kommen. Es gab zwischendrin 2-3 Songs wie etwa „She Wants“ oder „Remember“, die dem Publikum bekannt waren und sie sich auch zum Mitsingen verleiten liessen, aber genau genommen daurte es fast das ganze Konzert, bis zur Zugabe endlich richtig Schwung in das Ganze rein kam. Als Frontmann Rory ins Publikum sprang, schienen endlich alle wirklich dabei zu sein. Mit „I Can’t Wait, „Bring The Lights“ und „On The Road“, die als Zugabe gespielt wurden, war endlich richtig Stimmung da – aber das Konzert damit halt eben auch zu ende. Da hätte ich ja gerne mal das Konzert am Vortag in Zürich gesehen, so als Vergleich, aber wenn das halbe Publikum am Schwatzen ist, kann ja keine richtige Stimmung aufkommen…

Schlussendlich hab ich es geliebt der Band zuzuhören, aber fand die Stimmung eben während der meisten Zeit des Konzertes nicht sonderlich toll. Sunset Sons standen den Fans schliesslich noch für einen Schwaz und Fotos zur Verfügung. Scheinen vier nette und relaxte Typen zu sein, so wie man sich das beim Anhören der Musik etwa vorstellt. Die Band spielt übrigens diesen Sommer noch am St. Gallen Openair. Hoffen wir, dass es da besser und das Geschwatze weniger sein wird.

mehr Fotos in Galerie

Youtube-Playlists:
Hein Cooper
Sunset Sons

Offizielle Webseiten:
www.heincooper.com
www.sunsetsons.com

Please follow and like us: