Zermatt Unplugged 2018

Between 10th and 14th April 2018 the beautiful Zermatt Unplugged Music Festival took place for the 11th time. That was this week, at least 1600 meters over sealevel, 90 concerts and aftershow parties on 14 different stages. Been there last year for the first time for an afternoon (read here), I was there for three of the five days this year. But I could have endured it the whole week.

Staying overnight in Zermatt

Finding a place to stay during the festival is not that easy. To the usual tourists all the festival participants (bands, helpers, crew, concert visitors) are there. Despite the fact that I already booked in December, my options were rather limited. So you should book early. I also had to apply for holidays as it took place during the week. But after the experience of last year as well as with Kodaline and The Souls in the programme, I had to go ;). And the programme was also very exciting in general.

For a small budget

So on Tuesday I went to Zermatt. I had booked a bed at the hotel Bahnhof. The shared room is equipped with modern wooden beds, in a kind of small bunks. Every guest had their own area with light, socket and practical storage. There were also small lockers in the room. With the whole camera equipment I slept so much better this way 😉

Small motion detecting lights were attached to the bed feet. So you saw enough when entering the room, but did not bother the others. Breakfast wasn’t included, but the hotel has a large kitchen, which can be used at will. The bakery, Coop and Migros are just around the corner. For everyone on a smaller budget, the hotel is really recommended.

With love in details

At the weekend I checked in at Bella Vista. A small, cozy hotel on a slope overlooking the Matterhorn (well, through the trees) – if it showed. The Queen of the Mountains was pretty stubbornly hidden when I was there. A little mean. But the hotel was very comfortable, the welcome was warm and the staff was super friendly. The bed was totally comfortable and the breakfast buffet the next day not only looked great, with home-made rolls and a large selection it tasted very good. There was so much love in the detail.

Opening day: Favourite place Taste Village

I started the first day of the festival in the Taste Village, a small food village in the center of Zermatt. The weather was unfortunately the complete opposite of last year: it was cold, wet and it even snowed. At least when I was there (pff …). But nobody can spoil the fun, right ?! – Ok, at least not as long as you are dressed warm enough. 😉

After a few days and various locations, the Taste Village is still my favorite place at Zermatt Unplugged. It is super nicely arranged, the small stage surrounded by so many different food stalls. Every stall, every little barrack was equipped and decorated with so many beautiful details. If it’s clear, you have a direct view of the Matterhorn. On the one hand, admission is included in the ticket for the main concerts. On the other hand, you can also buy an unplugged passport separately.

Specialities and other goodies

I had a “Gommer Cholera”. This is a Valais vegetable cake, which I discovered last year and is so super delicious. You also can have pizza, tarte flambée, bagels, pulled pork burger, french fries and for dessert sweets like brownies and mini cupcakes (chocolate with raspberries, yum!). The selection is great.

A highlight in terms of food was also this year in the middle of the Taste Village: At the fireplace of Schweizer Fleisch you can sit down to the fire with a stick and fry your own cervelat. The fireplace was very popular and well visited. The fireplace is also good, to find rest from going stage to stage and just sit for a moment. Or warming up in the cold 😉

A versatile music programme

In addition to already well-known bands and musicians, this year many of them were unknown to me.

Veronica Fusaro all alone on stage

My first festival day started musically with Veronica Fusaro. The Thun musician impressed the audience with her solo performance at the Taste Village that afternoon. All alone on stage, that needs courage after all.

With her new EP she is again often touring with the band, but not at this festival. Her latest mini-album “Ice Cold” released in February includes songs like the catchy tune “Better If I Go”, which is regularly played on the radios. You can also find “Off You”, “Goddamn”, “I Still” and “Never Getting Down”.

Veronica played her songs on acoustic guitar with the support of a loop station. Of course, some older songs were also on the setlist.

[complete gallery: Veronica Fusaro]

A personal highlight is her version of “Wayfairing Stranger”, which she only sings with the help of the loop station. I know it from Ed Sheeran, but love it by her too. It was once again a nice performance and a cozy start to the festival days.

The Souls conjured up the sun

After a short changeover, it continued with another Thun band, with The Souls. That they do not need much to bring out their songs with their great voices and wonderful harmonies, they had often proven. In the meantime, the weather had gotten even better and in some cases you could discover the one or other blue hole in the sky. As a result, the Taste Village filled even more and the audience gathered numerously for the band in front of the stage.

[compelte gallery: The Souls / Taste Village]

Despite the cold and wet weather, there was such a wonderful atmosphere at Taste Village. And at least the heart became so warm. The Souls rocked their unplugged set with “Live” and “Something Good”. And while they thrilled with songs like “Silverrain”, “Fighting in the moonlight”, “Stay” as well as the full acoustic version of “Tandem”, sometime the sun showed up.

Their club tour, which will continue to feature their album “Close My Eyes”, will end with a sold-out concert weekend at Mokka Thun, before returning to the festival season. They will also play a special unplugged concert at one of the two shows. Besides a few festival shows, these are the last few concerts of the “Close My Eyes” era.

 

Kodaline after tour postponement back in Switzerland

Immediately after the concert of the Souls I went on to the tent. How disappointed I was when Irish band Kodaline postponed their entire European tour and canceled the Swiss concert last fall. All the more pleasing was that they performed at the Zermatt Unplugged that evening. One of the main reasons to go to the Zermatt Unplugged during the week. Unfortunately, the Kodaline concert was clashing with the concert of their fellow countrymen, the Dublin duo Hudson Taylor at the Vernissage. Has anyone seen it? Kodaline was just priority for me.

The review about Kodaline at Zermatt Unplugged can be found HERE.

Girls night out with Sarah Connor

After Kodaline, Sarah Connor performed at The Alex. I was a bit worried that the concerts would clash and that it would not work out to see her. Being in Zermatt that evening, I wanted to see her live. How the “girl’s night out” with Sarah Connor was, you read in the review HERE.

Blue Lounge: With The Souls on the mountain

The next day needed an incredible amount of overcoming. I wondered if I should really take part in the second Zermatt concert of the Souls. The Blue Lounge is at the top of the Blauherd mountain railway station – at over 2600 meters above sea level. In order to get there, you drive only with the super steep (!) cog railway and then change at the Suneggä station to the 8-seats gondola. With my fear of heights really nothing for me. I thought the ride on Ride On Music was bad enough. But somehow I could overcome it and actually made it up there. After all I can not miss The Souls concert when I’m there … 😉

When the weather is good you usually have the most beautiful view and most amazing view of the Matterhorn up there at the Blauherd mountain railway station. Of course, the weather got worse. The Matterhorn hid and The Souls had to play inside.

The small mountain restaurant offered space for a concert in a small, intimate setting and was then rather crowded. From the feeling the concert had been better the day before all in all. But it was comfortable. This Wednesday somehow felt like Sunday.

By the way, the still unreleased song, with which they start their set, is still nameless. 😉 It was followed by the setlist of the previous day. A highlight was when the whole band queezed through the audience for the acoustic version of “Tandem” , behind the bar and played the song right in the middle of it. At some point you could hear the clinking of glass – but what exactly happened there, I could not make out from my spot 😉

[complete gallery: The Souls | Blue Lounge]

Around 3 pm it was said we had to get down. Otherwise, the danger threatened that we would not get down from the mountains at all. Well, luckily I was in good company and distracted on the way back. The ride was fortunately then not quite as bad and shaken as it was prophesied. 😉 So, if you’re not scared of heights like me, then dare to go up there. It is a beautiful location.

Hip Hop from Basel

Before I went home again, La Nefera was just on stage of Taste Village, who I had seen for the first time at the Swiss Live Talents. Born in the Dominican republic and raised in Basel, the rapper showed a lot of energy on stage with her Spanish rap. However, I realized that somehow this dark hip-hop is not really mine.

Return on the last festival day

On the last day of the festival, on Saturday, I was just in my hotel room listening to music from the Taste Village, which I immediately liked and I absolutely wanted to check out.

Indie-Folk from Winterthur

It was the Winterthur indie folk band Prince Jelleh that I had heard from afar. I just heard the last few songs from the six-memebers band. I liked the beautiful melodies and the harmonious singing so well, so I took the two EPs with me.

The most recent, Antarctica, they released last November. It’s definitely worth to keep follow the band.

When the antihero becomes a hero

When checking out bands to plan my Zermatt Unplugged programme, I had previously come across the Stuttgart band Antiheld. In addition, also the organizer told that the day before Antiheld had totally thrilled the audience. So we went to the terrace of the Hotel Cervo. And I can say: Antiheld is THE discovery I made at Zermatt Unplugged. Why that is so and how their self-proclaimed “Street dog pop” sounds, you read in the review  HERE.

Rock anthems by Tim Freitag

Back at Taste Village, Tim Freitag was setting up. They are one of the bands that I know through other bands. I’ve read a lot about them since Severin Graf, bassist with James Gruntz and Kunz, and keyboarder Daniel Gisler, to most well known from Hecht, are part of the band. That means, Gisi was just on tour with Hecht and therefore not there.

Tim Freitag quickly caught the attention of the initially reserved audience. With powerful, thoroughly danceable rock songs and melancholic vocals the band around frontman Janick Pfenniger enthused. Besides playing songs like “In My Mind” and the current single “Hold On”, “Bruises” became my personal favorite right away. That could definitely serve as a stadium anthem. There is also a certain rock star attitude. The frontman stood in spite of the cool temperatures suddenly only in the undershirt on the stage and was sometimes from the drums 😉

[complete gallery: Tim Freitag]

Lianne La Havas came for Jessie J

Actually, the British singer Jessie J should have performed on the tent stage this evening. But she had once again canceled another Swiss concert, or it was postponed to next year. The to me unknown Lianne La Havas, with the incredible voice, came as her replacement. It was not easy for her. Why, you read HERE.

Beautiful final with Mighty Oaks

The last concert at Zermatt Unplugged 2018 was played by Mighty Oaks at The Alex. With an extra for the festival unplugged arranged set, the Berlin-based band made for a great final. But just read HERE.

Taken home many great impressions

The Zermatt Unplugged is a really great and versatile festival. The music festival in the middle of the Valais mountains scores with super nice concert venues and locations. You can experience world stars in an intimate setting with partly exclusive unplugged sets, but also discover many newcomers. Whether with or without sunshine and blue skies, the atmosphere is relaxed and jolly. Isolated from everyday life, I was definitely in another world and have really enjoyed the days.

Nice to hear Kodaline live again. Concerts by The Souls are somehow always small adventures and take you to the most incredible places. And I totally celebrated Antiheld. I drove home with many impressions and lasting memories.

In addition, on Sunday even the Matterhorn has showed up 😉

 

The next Zermatt Unplugged takes place from 9 – 13 April 2019. As I said, accommodation is best booked early.

 

You can find information about the festival and artists here:

www.zermatt-unplugged.ch
veronicafusaro.com
thesouls.ch
princejelleh.ch
timfreitag.com
www.lanefera.ch
www.kodaline.com
www.liannelahavas.com
www.sarah-connor.com
mightyoaksmusic.com

Please follow and like us:

Zermatt Unplugged 2018

Zum 11. Mal fand zwischen dem 10. und 14. April 2018 das wunderschöne Zermatt Unplugged Musikfestival statt. Das waren in dieser Woche, auf mindestens 1600 m, 90 Konzerte und Aftershow-Parties auf 14 verschiedenen Bühnen. Letztes Jahr zum ersten Mal für einen Nachmittag vor Ort (lest hier), war ich dieses Jahr während drei der fünf Tage mit dabei. Ich hätte es dort aber locker die ganze Woche ausgehalten.

Übernachten in Zermatt

Zur Festivalzeit eine Unterkunft zu finden, die im Budget liegt, ist nicht ganz so einfach. Zu den üblichen Touristen kommen noch die ganzen Festivalteilnehmer (Bands, Helfer, Crew, Konzertbesucher) hinzu. Trotz, dass ich bereits im Dezember gebucht hab, war meine Auswahl eher begrenzt. Man sollte also früh buchen. Ferientage musste ich auch beantragen, da es unter der Woche stattfand. Aber nach der Erfahrung vom letzten Jahr sowie mit Kodaline und The Souls im Programm, musste ich da auf jeden Fall hin 😉 . Und das Programm war ja auch generell sehr spannend.

Fürs kleine Budget

Am Dienstag ging es also ab nach Zermatt. Ich hatte ein Bett im Hotel Bahnhof gebucht. Das Mehrbettzimmer ist mit modernen Holzbetten ausgestattet, auf eine Art kleine Kojen. Da hatte jeder Gast einen eigenen Bereich mit Licht, Steckdose und praktischer Ablage. Ausserdem waren kleine Schliessfächer im Zimmer. Mit der ganzen Kameraausrüstung schlief sich damit gleich viel besser 😉

An den Bettfüssen waren kleine Bewegungslichter befestigt. Damit sah man beim Betreten des Zimmers genügend, störte aber alle anderen nicht gross. Es war zwar kein Frühstück inbegriffen, aber das Hotel besitzt eine grosse Küche, die nach belieben genutzt werden kann. Der Bäcker, Coop und Migros sind gleich um die Ecke. Für alle mit kleinerem Budget, ist das Hotel echt zu empfehlen.

Mit viel Liebe im Detail

Am Wochenende checkte ich dann im Bella Vista ein. Ein kleines, gemütliches Hotel am Hang mit Blick aufs Matterhorn (naja, durch die Bäume) – wenn es sich denn zeigte. Die Königin der Berge hielt sich ganz schön hartnäckig versteckt, als ich vor Ort war. Schon bitzli gemein. Dafür war das Hotel sehr gemütlich, der Empfang herzlich und das Personal super freundlich. Das Bett war total bequem und das Frühstücksbuffet am nächsten Tag sah nicht nur super lecker aus, mit selbstgebackenen Brötchen und grosser Auswahl schmeckte es sehr gut. Es lag so viel Liebe im Detail.

Eröffnungstag: Lieblingsort Taste Village

Den ersten Festivaltag startete ich gleich im Taste Village, ein kleines Food-Dorf im Zentrum von Zermatt. Das Wetter war leider das totale Gegenteil vom vorigen Jahr: Es war kalt, nass und schneite sogar. Zumindest wenn ich da war (pff…). Aber davon lässt sich ja keiner den Spass verderben, nicht wahr?! – ok, wenigstens nicht solange man einigermassen warm genug gekleidet ist. 😉

Das Taste Village ist nach den paar Tagen und diversen Locations nachwievor mein Lieblingsort am Zermatt Unplugged. Es ist super schön hergerichtet, die kleine Bühne umgeben von so vielen verschiedenen Food-Ständen. Jeder Stand, jede kleine Hütte war mit so vielen schönen Details ausgestattet und dekoriert. Wenn es sich zeigt, hat man direkt Blick aufs Matterhorn. Der Zutritt ist einerseits im Ticket für die Hauptkonzerte inbegriffen. Andererseits kann man sich auch separat einen Unplugged Pass kaufen.

Spezialitäten und andere Leckereien

Ich liess mir eine “Gommer Cholera” schmecken. Das ist ein Walliser Gemüsekuchen, den ich letztes Jahr entdeckt habe und so super lecker finde. Ausserdem gibts auch Pizza, Flammkuchen, Bagels, Pulled Pork-Burger, Pommes und zum Dessert Süsses wie Brownies und Mini-Cupcakes (Schokolade mit Himbeeren. Yum!). Die Auswahl ist gross.

Ein Highlight in Sachen Essen stand aber auch dieses Jahr mitten im Taste Village: An der Brätlistelle von Schweizer Fleisch kann man sich mit Stecken ans Feuer setzen und seine Cervelat selber bräteln. Die Feuerstelle war sehr beliebt und gut besucht. Die Brätlistelle ist auch gut, um nach dem ganzen Hin- und Her von Bühne zu Bühne etwas Ruhe zu finden und einfach einen Moment zu sitzen. Oder sich bei der Kälte aufzuwärmen 😉

Ein vielseitiges Musikprogramm

Neben bereits bekannten Bands und Musiker, waren dieses Jahr auch viele mir noch unbekannte dabei.

Veronica Fusaro ganz alleine auf der Bühne

Mein erster Festivaltag startete musikalisch mit Veronica Fusaro. Die Thuner Musikerin beeindruckte an diesem Nachmittag die Zuschauer mit ihrem Soloauftritt im Taste Village. Ganz alleine auf der Bühne, das brauche schliesslich Mut.

Mit ihrer neuen EP ist sie öfters wieder mit ganzer Band unterwegs, allerdings nicht an diesem Festival. Ihr neustes, im Februar veröffentlichtes Mini-Album “Ice Cold” beinhaltet Songs wie den Ohrwurm “Better If I Go”, der regelmässig an den Radios gespielt wird. Daneben sind “Off You”, “Goddamn”, “I Still” und “Never Getting Down” zu finden.

Veronica spielte ihre Songs an Akustikgitarre mit Unterstützung einer Loop-Station. Natürlich waren auch einige ältere Songs auf der Setlist zu finden.

[komplette Bildstrecke: Veronica Fusaro]

Ein persönliches Highlight ist immer wieder ihre Version von “Wayfairing Stranger”, die sie jeweils nur mit Hilfe der Loopstation singt. Den kenn ich durch Ed Sheeran, lieb den aber auch von ihr. Es war einmal mehr ein schöner Auftritt und ein gemütlicher Start in die Festivaltage.

The Souls zauberten die Sonne herbei

Nach einem kurzen Umbau ging es mit einer weiteren Thuner Band weiter, mit The Souls. Dass sie nicht viel brauchen, um ihre Songs mit ihren tollen Stimmen und wunderbaren Harmonien zur Geltung zu bringen, hatten sie oft schon beweisen. Das Wetter war in der Zwischenzeit auch noch besser geworden und teilweise konnte man das eine oder andere blaue Loch am Himmel entdecken. Dadurch füllte sich das Taste Village noch mehr und die Zuschauer versammelten sich für die Band zahlreich vor der Bühne.

[komplette Bilderstrecke: The Souls / Taste Village]

Trotz des kalt-nassen Wetters herrschte eine so wunderbare Stimmung im Taste Village. Und zumindest ums Herz wurde einen so richtig warm. The Souls rockten zu “Live” und “Something Good” ihr Unplugged Set. Und während sie mit Songs wie “Silverrain”, “Fighting in the moonlight”, “Stay” sowie der kompletten Akustikversion von “Tandem” begeisterten, zeigte sich sogar irgendwann die Sonne etwas.

Ihre Clubtour, auf der sie nachwievor ihr Album “Close my eyes” mit dabei haben, wird mit einem ausverkauften Konzertwochenende im Mokka Thun enden, bevor es bereits wieder in die Festival Saison übergehen wird. Dabei werden sie an einer der zwei Shows ebenfalls ein spezielles Unplugged Konzert spielen. Neben ein paar wenigen Festivalshows, sind es die letzten paar Konzerte der “Close My Eyes” Ära.

Kodaline nach Tourverschiebung zurück in der Schweiz

Gleich nach dem Konzert der Souls ging es weiter ins Zelt. Wie war ich enttäuscht gewesen, als die irische Band Kodaline ihre ganze Europa-Tour verschoben und somit auch das Schweizer Konzert letzten Herbst wieder abgesagt haben. Umso erfreulicher war, dass sie an diesem Abend am Zermatt Unplugged auftraten. Einer der Hauptgründe überhaupt unter der Woche ans Zermatt Unplugged gefahren zu sein. Leider überschnitt sich das Kodaline Konzert mit dem Konzert ihrer Landesgenossen, dem Dublin-Duo Hudson Taylor im Vernissage. Hat es jemand von euch gesehen? Kodaline gingen bei mir aber einfach vor.

Den Bericht zu Kodaline am Zermatt Unplugged findet ihr HIER.

Mädelsabend mit Sarah Connor

Nach Kodaline trat Sarah Connor im The Alex auf. Ich hatte schon etwas Angst gehabt, dass sich die Konzerte überschneiden würden und es nicht funktionierte, sie zu sehen. Wenn ich schon in Zermatt war an diesem Abend, wollte ich sie gerne live sehen. Wie der “Mädelsabend” mit Sarah Connor schliesslich war, lest ihr im Bericht HIER.

Blue Lounge: Mit den Souls auf den Berg

Der nächste Tag brauchte  unglaublich viel Überwindung. Ich hab mir x-mal überlegt, ob ich wirklich am zweiten Zermatt Konzert der Souls teilnehmen soll . Die Blue Lounge ist nämlich oben an der Blauherd Bergbahnstation – auf über 2600 m über Meer. Um da hoch zu kommen, fährt man erst mit der super steilen (!) Zahnradbahn und steigt dann bei der Suneggä-Station ins Achtergondeli um. Mit meiner Höhenangst eigentlich so gar nix für mich. Ich fand die Fahrt am Ride On Music bereits schlimm genug. Aber irgendwie hab ich mich überwunden und es tatsächlich hoch geschafft. Ich kann ja kein The Souls Konzert verpassen, wenn ich vor Ort bin… 😉

Bei schönem Wetter hat man da oben an der Blauherd Bergbahnstation normalerweise die schönste Aussicht und tollsten Blick aufs Matterhorn. Natürlich verschlechtere sich das Wetter aber. Das Matterhorn versteckte sich und The Souls mussten drinnen spielen.

Das kleine Bergrestaurant bot Platz für ein Konzert im kleinen, intimen Rahmen und war dann ziemlich vollgestopft. Vom Gefühl her war das Konzert am Vortag alles in allem irgendwie besser gewesen. Es war aber gemütlich. Dieser Mittwoch fühlte sich irgendwie nach Sonntag an.

Der noch unveröffentlichte Song, mit dem sie ihr Set jeweils beginnen, ist übrigens immer noch namenlos. 😉 Auf den folgte die Setlist des Vortags. Ein Highlight dabei war, als sich die ganze Band für die Akustikversion von „Tandem“ zwischen den Zuschauern durch, hinter die Bar quetschte und das Lied mitten drin spielte. Irgendwann hörte man dann auch noch Glas klirren – was da genau passiert war, konnte ich von meinem Platz aus allerdings nicht ausmachen 😉

[komplette Bildstrecke: The Souls | Blue Lounge]

Gegen 15 Uhr hiess es dann, wir müssten runter. Die Gefahr drohte sonst, dass man da gar nicht mehr vom Berg kommen würde. Gut, war ich dann in bester Gesellschaft und abgelenkt auf der Rückfahrt. Die Fahrt war zum Glück dann nicht ganz so schlimm und durchgeschüttelt, wie prophezeit wurde. 😉 Also, wenn ihr nicht von Höhenangst geplagt seid wie ich, dann wagt euch ruhig da hoch. Es ist eine wunderschöne Location.

Hip Hop aus Basel

Bevor es dann für mich heim ging, stand im Taste Village gerade La Nefera noch auf der Bühne, die ich an den Swiss Live Talents zum ersten Mal gesehen hatte. Die in der Dominikanischen Republik geborene und in Basel aufgewachsene Rapperin zeigte auch hier mit ihrem spanischen Rap viel Energie auf der Bühne. Ich stellte allerdings fest, dass der irgendwie düstere, dumpfe wirkende Hip-Hop nicht so meins ist.

Rückkehr am letzten Festivaltag

Ich stand am letzten Festivaltag, am Samstag, gerade noch in meinem Hotelzimmer und hörte aus dem Taste Village her Musik, die mir sofort gefiel und ich unbedingt noch aus checken wollte.

Indie-Folk aus Winterthur

Es war die Winterthurer Indie-Folkband Prince Jelleh, die ich von weitem gehört hatte. Ich kriegte gerade noch so die letzten paar Songs der sechsköpfigen Band mit. Die schönen Melodien und der harmonische Gesang gefielen mir so gut, da nahm ich mir die beiden EPs gleich mit.

Die aktuellste, Antarctica, haben sie letzten November veröffentlicht. Die Band weiter verfolgen lohnt sich bestimmt.

Wenn der Antiheld zum Held wird

Beim Bands auschecken, um mein Zermatt Unplugged Programm zu planen, war ich bereits vorab auf die Stuttgarter Band Antiheld gestossen. Ausserdem hiess es dann auch von Veranstalterseite, dass Antiheld am Vortag das Publikum total begeistert hatte. Also ging es ab auf die Terrasse des Hotel Cervo. Und ich kann sagen: Antiheld sind DIE Neuentdeckung, die ich am Zermatt Unplugged gemacht hab. Wieso das so ist und wie eigentlich ihr selbsternannter “Strassenköterpop” klingt, lest ihr im Bericht HIER.

Rockhymnen von Tim Freitag

Zurück im Taste Village, waren Tim Freitag am Aufstellen. Sie sind eine der Bands, die durch andere Bands kenne. Ich hatte schon viel von ihnen gelesen, da Severin Graf, Bassist bei James Gruntz und Kunz, sowie Keyboarder Daniel Gisler, den meisten wohl bekannt aus Hecht,  Teil der Band sind. Das heisst, Gisi war gerade mit Hecht auf Tour und somit nicht dabei.

Tim Freitag erlangten schnell die Aufmerksamkeit des zu Beginn etwas zurückhaltenden Publikums. Mit kraftvollen, durchaus tanzbaren Rocksongs und melancholischen Gesang begeisterte die Band rund um Frontmann Janick Pfenniger. Neben gespielten Songs wie “In My Mind” und die aktuelle Single “Hold On”, wurde “Bruises” sofort mein persönlicher Favoriten. Der könnte definitiv als Stadionhymne herhalten. Auch eine gewisse Rockstar-Attitude ist vorhanden. Stand der Frontmann trotz der kühlen Temperaturen plötzlich nur noch im Unterhemd auf der Bühne und stand auch mal auf den Drums oben 😉

[komplette Fotostrecke: Tim Freitag]

Lianne La Havas kam für Jessie J

Eigentlich hätte die britische Sängerin Jessie J an diesem Abend auf der Zeltbühne auftreten sollen. Aber sie hatte mal wieder ein weiteres Schweizer Konzert abgesagt, bzw. es wurde auf nächstes Jahr verschoben. Die mir unbekannte Lianne La Havas, mit der unglaublichen Stimme, kam als ihr Ersatz. Es war doch nicht ganz einfach für sie. Wieso, lest ihr HIER.

Schöner Abschluss mit Mighty Oaks

Das letzte Konzert am Zermatt Unplugged 2018 spielten Mighty Oaks im The Alex. Mit einem extra fürs Festival zusammengestellten unplugged Set, sorgte die aus Berlin stammende Band für einen tollen Abschluss. Aber lest einfach HIER.

Viele tolle Eindrücke nach Hause genommen

Das Zermatt Unplugged ist wirklich ein tolles und vielseitiges Festivals. Das Musikfestival mitten in den Walliser Bergen punktet mit super schönen Konzertlokalen und Standorten. Man kann Weltstars im intimen Rahmen mit teils exklusiven unplugged Sets erleben, aber auch viele Newcomer entdecken. Ob mit oder ohne Sonnenschein und blauem Himmel ist die Stimmung relaxt und ausgelassen. Abgeschieden vom Alltag war ich da definitiv etwas in einer anderen Welt und hab die Tage richtig genossen.

Schön Kodaline wieder mal live zu hören. Konzerte von The Souls sind irgendwie eh immer kleine Abenteuer und bringen einen zu den unglaublichsten Orten. Und Antiheld hab ich total gefeiert. Ich bin mit sehr vielen Eindrücken und bleibenden Erinnerungen nach Hause gefahren.

Ausserdem hat sich am Sonntag sogar noch das Matterhorn gezeigt 😉

Das nächste Zermatt unplugged findet vom 9.-13. April 2019 statt. Wie gesagt, Unterkunft am besten früh buchen.

 

Infos zu Festival und Künstler findet ihr hier:

www.zermatt-unplugged.ch
veronicafusaro.com
thesouls.ch
princejelleh.ch
timfreitag.com
www.lanefera.ch
www.kodaline.com
www.liannelahavas.com
www.sarah-connor.com
mightyoaksmusic.com

Please follow and like us: